Skinnnyyyy

Well I guess I could say “I asked for it” ? or… “we should of known it was coming”
– I was crazy picky as a kid.
Still am.

So why shouldn’t our children be?

Well, I was hoping our kids would inherit their fathers ability to try new foods 🙂 – instead of my refusal gene – that I am sure my mom can speak up on – that I was in fact, ODDLY PICKY.

This little dude has my eating habits 100%

IMG_4056IMG_4057

and he sure is skinny!

I was looking at him today as he ran around in his little boxers and muscle shirt – and was just amazed at how thin he has gotten.

He was never a chunky baby or toddler… but hes really thinned out this past year.

I know hes fine.. but Id love to figure out some more foods he could enjoy.

Many days I feel like im forcing him to much when it comes to trying new foods – and while I am all for “taking at least 2 bites”… – I want my children to enjoy our meals too.

    So! Im asking you all – share with me one of your favorite recipes.

I have a few rules tho:

1) Has to be fairly easy to make – im no chef 🙂
2) No fish (I hate it – yes I know I should feed it to my kids, but you don’t understand – I cant even stand the smell!)
3) No crazy foods that I have to order from the internet to cook 🙂

Eeee! Im excited! I have a few family fav’s myself – that Im going to share below.
So get your pencils 🙂 – cause our kids love these, so maybe yours will too!

IMG_4055

Recipe #1: “Chicken with Juice (as our kids call it) or Sticky Chicken” – Recipe given to me by Kelly – our kids ADORE IT.

Ingredients:
~ 4-6 Chicken Thighs – with the skin
~ 1 cup soy sauce (this is not a low sodium recipe LOL)
~ 1 cup dark brown sugar (or light) – this is not a low sugar recipe HAHA
~ 2 squirts of ketchup (I never measure this – so like 2 teaspoons maybe?)
~ Garlic Salt
~ Rice (I use Jasmine Rice)

Directions:
~ Pre-heat oven to 375F
~ Lay Chicken Thighs thawed (raw) on 9×13 glass baking pan – side by side.
~ Mix Soy Sauce, Brown Sugar & Ketchup together in a bowl.
~ Sprinkle Garlic Salt over Chicken
~ Pour Soy Sauce mixture all over chicken
~ Baked un-covered for 1 hour – flipping chicken every 15-20 minutes.
~ While chicken cooks, you can cook your rice.

– Serve chicken (I cut it off the bones for my kids) – over rice, using a spoon to drizzle the juice from the pan over top, its so good. Our kids ask for seconds – we also try to serve this with a green veggie like green beans.

Recipe #2: “Beef Stew (or pork) with Coffee” – Recipe originally from Aliesha (i’ve tweaked it some)

Ingredients:
~ 1 small package of stewed beef (I get pre-cut beef or pork – because its just easier for me)
~ 1 yellow onion – sliced
~ 2 garlic cloves crushed
~ 2 large carrots (cut up)
~ 2 large idaho potatoes (or red)
~ 1 cup of coffee
~ 1 can of beefy mushroom soup (or beef broth – I found the beefy mushroom makes it creamier)
~ half can of cream of chicken soup
~ 1 can of water (I just use the beefy mushroom can for this)
~ Rice

IMG_4053


Directions:

~ Get a crock pot (large) – and pour in the cup of coffee, soups. Stir that up, then add in the meat.
~ I then throw in the onion (once cut up of course) – carrots, potatoe, and crushed garlic.
~ Stir it til everything is coated well..
~ Then I add in the cup of water last, stirring it all up once last time.
~ Place lid onto crock pot, and cook on high all day – for me its usually from 10am-5pm – I try to make it in the morning.
~ Serve beef stew over rice 🙂

Recipe #3: Salsa Tomatoe Soup thing” – this recipe has no name, really…

Ingredients:
~ 1 can of Tomato Bisque soup (its like a thicker tomato soup)
~ 1 cup of Salsa (nothing to spicy – kids wont eat it if it is)
~ 1 cup of mild cheddar
~ 6 flour tortillas (small – if you have bigger ones, just use less)
~ 1 lb of turkey burger (or hamburger -we prefer turkey)

Directions:
~ Pre-head oven to 350F
~ Use a skillet to cook the turkey – until browned and fully cooked.
~ Pre-cut the tortilla’s into 1 inch by 1 inch squares (set aside)
~ Pour in Salsa and Tomato Bisque soup
~ Stir together, then add in the tortilla’s little by little, stirring as you go.
~ Once tortilla’s are covered, add in half the cheese, stirring as well.
~ Then pour ingredients into a corning ware bowl (dish) – and then top with remaining cheese.
~ Bake uncovered until cheese is browned.

– We usually serve that dish with corn as well.

– now return the favor 😉 and share in a comment one of your favorites.

Oh wait, I already said that 🙂 – please do share!

*Note the cooking pictures have nothing to do with these particular recipes. They are just photos I took while cooking a new “egg plant” meatball recipe -which for us didn’t work out – the texture of the egg plant wasn’t something I was use to – but we tried it!*

About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in cooking, recipes, Taite. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Skinnnyyyy

  1. Jaime says:

    I am in the same boat with Ethan. I will post a recipe later…
    It’s so hard!!

  2. tanya says:

    Oh yum! I am going to try the sticky chicken recipe this week! Do you think it would work in the crockpot?
    I will have to search my recipes for some kid recipes. My youngest is real picky and is a carb junkie which makes things pretty difficult because I really try to limit carbs.

    • Drea says:

      @tanya, I meant to mention – Taite does not like breads!

      He refuses BISCUITS even..
      He wont eat tortilla’s unless I put them in that recipe I posted above. But forget tacos or fajitas, he wont eat it.
      He wont eat sandwiches (yea try doing a picnic with him!)

      He wont even eat toast.

      The only bread he eats is dough on a pizza.
      Pancakes
      Waffles
      and cinnamon swirl breads

      Thats it….

  3. Aliesha says:

    Ooh new recipes!

    K, let me think…

    Parmesan Chicken

    boneless, skinless chicken breast tenders (the smaller pieces)
    one egg, lightly beaten
    finely crushed crackers (like Saltines or Ritz)
    parmesan cheese (from the green canister)
    a grind of black pepper

    In a shallow bowl or plate, combine cracker crumbs, parmesan cheese, and pepper. Dip chicken tenders into beaten egg, then into crumb/cheese mixture. Place on a greased baking sheet and bake at 350 until done (start with 12 minutes or so and check them; cooking time will vary based on size of chicken). Serve with rice & veggies.

    Marinated Chicken

    This one is easy… just toss your chicken (boneless or bone-in, whatever) in a large gallon zip bag with your favorite salad dressing (Zesty Italian, Caesar vinaigrette, etc.). Let it marinate until the chicken is thawed (all day in the fridge), or use thawed chicken and marinate for 20 minutes to a hour. Cook in the oven or in a skillet.

    Quesadillas

    If Taite likes tortillas, he might like quesadillas. Just heat a skillet up – medium heat – and spray it with non-stick spray. Add a tortilla shell and cover it with grated cheese (and cooked chicken, if desired). Cover with another tortilla shell and heat on both sides until the cheese is melted. Cut into wedges and serve with salsa for dunking!

    If I think of others, I’ll let you know!

  4. Bren says:

    My son loves “Pizza-dillas” which might be right up Taite’s alley…same recipe as Aliesha’s above, but add a little pizza sauce (or spagetti sauce, in a pinch) and diced up pepperoni if you have some. I say diced up, because if they get a hot pepperoni on their chin while trying to eat it, well, you get the picture 😉 After the kids get used to them, you can let them get creative and add their fav veggies (mushrooms, broccoli, etc.). I give them a little extra sauce on their plate with a sprinkle of parmesan cheese for dipping.

  5. Stacey says:

    I’ll try to come back with some recipes later. How skinny is he? Like height and weight?

  6. Sarah says:

    Dustyn is sooo picky, but so am I. I will try those last two. I love Kelly’s sticky chicken. I will try and share some recipes later. 🙂

  7. Jenn says:

    My son hates bread as well. He won’t eat sandwiches-only grilled cheese. BUT he loves pizza. So I made these pizza “biscuits” a while back and he loves them (normally won’t eat biscuits or rolls). Just bake some buscuits, cut in half and spread pizza sauce on them. Add pepperoni and cheese and bake for another 5 min. Easy! He loves them. I’ll have to think of some other recipes my kids like and share…baby is crying now! 🙂

  8. Tara Dew says:

    All this week, I’ll be featuring tried-and-true easy recipes on our blog!!!! Great minds think alike:)

  9. Megan C. says:

    My son isn’t into breads either- which is kinda funny since I am a bread eating fiend! 🙂 Shish-Ka-Bobs are always a winner in our house. Kids love to get involved making them and get excited about eating their creations. I marinate chicken and or steak chunks and fresh assorted chunked vegetables. Thread on skewers and grill or bake in ove. Kids can thread veggies and pineapple for a fun twist. Serve with rice or pasta! Always a fun meal! Thanks for sharing your recipes too! Always fun to try some new things!

  10. Jenn says:

    Lasagna is a family favorite and it’s actually very easy to make. Takes a bit of time, but not hard at all.
    1lb. ground beef (I used 1/5-2lbs…we like it a bit meatier)
    3/4 c chopped red onion (or just use some dried onions)
    1 clove minced garlic (if I have it…otherwise I use garlic powder)
    Cook in a Dutch oven. Drain.
    For sauce:
    either 3 large jars of spaghetti sauce OR you can easily and cheaply make your own (this is what I do)
    32 oz can of stewed tomatoes
    15 oz can tomato sauce
    2 Tbs parsley flakes
    2 Tbs sugar
    1 tsp salt
    1 tsp basil
    Add this to meat mixture and heat to boiling. Reduce heat and simmer for 30 min.
    Preheat oven to 350.
    Mix:
    24 oz carton cottage cheese
    2 cups Italian blend shredded cheese
    1 Tsp parsley flakes
    1tsp oregeno
    Use a large lasagna pan (I get the foil ones at the dollar store…they’re deeper than a regular 9×13 pan)
    Spread a bit of tomato sauce on the bottom of the pan, then layer noodles (get the oven-ready lasagna noodles! No soaking overnight!), meat mix, and cheese mix. I usually make 2 or 3 layers. Make sure your last layer is meat then top with 1 cup of Italian cheese blend.
    Bake 1 hour covered, uncover and bake additional 30 min. Let stand for 15 min. before serving.

    So it takes a total of 2 hrs. 15 mi. before it’s ready to eat, but there’s only about 20 min. of actual preparing that you have to do…the rest is cooking time! I just have to remember to start it early enough for supper! 🙂

  11. Crystal W says:

    Apple Chutney Spiced Pork Chops
    Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 1 chop and about 1/3 cup chutney)
    Ingredients
    • Chutney:
    • 1 tablespoon butter
    • 5 cups (1/4-inch) cubed peeled apple (about 3 apples)
    • 1/4 cup dried cranberries
    • 3 tablespoons brown sugar
    • 3 tablespoons cider vinegar
    • 2 teaspoons minced peeled fresh ginger
    • 1/4 teaspoon salt
    • 1/4 teaspoon dry mustard
    • 1/8 teaspoon ground allspice
    •
    Pork:
    • 3/4 teaspoon ground chipotle chile pepper
    • 1/2 teaspoon salt
    • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
    • 1/2 teaspoon ground coriander
    • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
    • 4 (4-ounce) boneless center-cut pork loin chops, trimmed
    • Cooking spray
    Preparation
    1. To prepare chutney, melt butter in a nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add apple; sauté 4 minutes or until lightly browned. Add cranberries and the next 6 ingredients (through allspice); bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer 8 minutes or until apples are tender; stir occasionally.
    2. To prepare pork, while chutney simmers, heat a grill pan over medium-high heat. Combine chipotle and next 4 ingredients (through black pepper); sprinkle over pork. Coat grill pan with cooking spray. Add pork to pan; cook 4 minutes on each side or until done. Serve with chutney.
    Slender haricots verts are a pretty and quick-cooking complement to the meal. Heat 2 teaspoons olive oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add 12 ounces haricots verts to pan; cook 3 minutes, stirring occasionally. Stir in 1/4 teaspoon salt, 1/8 teaspoon black pepper, and 2 thinly sliced garlic cloves; cook 5 minutes or until garlic is lightly browned.

    We like it with string beans.

  12. Crystal W says:

    PS: I use my magic bullet to sneak veggies into pancake batter. In the end, they still just taste like syrup. Dunno if that’s helpful, but it works for us.

  13. scatterbrain says:

    Here’s my daughter’s current favorite. She is not too fond of breads either. We call this ‘godumbu dosa’ (wheat pancake)
    3 tablespoons whole wheat flour
    1 pinch salt
    1 teaspoon sugar.

    blend these together, pour a scoop onto a pan, swirl it around so it looks like thin pancake. when it is cooked on one side, flip it over. can be served as a roll with scrambled egg/chopped fruit filling or drizzle some honey over it.

    extremely simple and yet so yum!

  14. Jenny says:

    Hi Drea!
    I just have read this post of you while I am taking my first closer look to your blog 🙂 I do not have much time to add you a recipe here right now. But I have posted a few on my blog, too. Perhaps you will like to look for them. I have a sidebar at my blog with the labels of the posts, the recipes you will find by clicking on the label “food/cooking/baking…

Leave a Reply

