Slow to anger

I was reading today in my bible in the book of James… and came to a portion I had under-lined from years past.

Sometimes when we read our bible we often re-read things, and im amazed that each time we do it – God still speaks… and it is almost as if the scriptures can touch us in a different way – each and every time.

When I read this portion today – it reminded me of something things I haven’t been doing… and I thought I would share.

James 1:19-28 (NLT)

“19 Understand this, my dear brothers and sisters: You must all be quick to listen, slow to speak, and slow to get angry. 20 Human anger[a] does not produce the righteousness[b] God desires. 21 So get rid of all the filth and evil in your lives, and humbly accept the word God has planted in your hearts, for it has the power to save your souls.

22 But don’t just listen to God’s word. You must do what it says. Otherwise, you are only fooling yourselves. 23 For if you listen to the word and don’t obey, it is like glancing at your face in a mirror. 24 You see yourself, walk away, and forget what you look like. 25 But if you look carefully into the perfect law that sets you free, and if you do what it says and don’t forget what you heard, then God will bless you for doing it.

26 If you claim to be religious but don’t control your tongue, you are fooling yourself, and your religion is worthless. 27 Pure and genuine religion in the sight of God the Father means caring for orphans and widows in their distress and refusing to let the world corrupt you.”

I often have to remind myself to be a gentle quiet spirit… My friend Lis always seemed to be good about this… she always seemed so calm when I spoke to her… and in her writings… Where I on the other hand was quick to spout off my frustrations and hurt. I dont think its wrong to share our hurt… but often times when I did it – I did it to prove a point or to get at someone. I didn’t come about sharing in a humble way – and instead could be very prideful and arrogant.

Through people like Lis, and others… and more than anything Gods Word – I am learning why having a gentle quiet spirit… and being “slow to anger” as it talked about in James – is so important.

I was on my way to town the other day and this song came on the radio…

Towards the beginning of this song it says…

I know that I deserve to die, for the murder in my heart.
So be gentle with me Jesus, as you tear me apart.

Please, Kill the liar, kill the thief in me…
You know that I am tired of their cruelty
Breathe into my spirit… breathe into my veins.
Until only Love remains
.

I have been so angry during certain times in my life – that it not only affects my thoughts… and my days, but it greatly affects my ability to have a quiet time. Because to be angry with someone… and to hold onto the wrong they have done against you – or others – is a sin. The bible is so clear when it tells us that to be angry with someone is the same as murder… and while many will think “its not really like murder – you didnt kill the person” – we are committing murder in our hearts – and if we are living in this constant state of anger and bitterness, how are we to have communion and a strong relationship with Christ – when we are refusing to turn from a sin?

Im not perfect and I will be the 1st to ever admit that.

but I truly desire to…

“lay aside all filthiness and overflow of wickedness, and receive with meekness the implanted word, which is able to save our souls.”
(vs 19)

I dont want bitterness to rule in me…

What a terrible way to live…

and this brings me to one thing I have decided to cut back on in order to help with this.

Facebook.

A great tool right?

Well, it can be…

I have enjoyed being on facebook in the sense it has reconnected me with so many family members and friends. I have loved the fact I can meet many more business clients through it as well – it is an awesome network for businesses, esp. photography.

However… it is also full of gossip… filth… boasting, lies, and really garbage in some degrees, and to be faced with this daily – as you scroll through “Feeds” – it can really break a person down. Even though we think to ourselves “whatever” – and rub things off, over time I really think doing away with these sorts of influences can do nothing but protect us…

So im making some changes…
Facebook allows you to tweak many things on your privacy settings – and you can also unsubscribe to peoples feeds – I never knew this til a friend told me earlier today. I also have removed my blog from my facebook – after all, if people really want to read it, they can come to it… otherwise, I dont see the point on importing it to facebook. Im on the fence about totally removing “facebook wall post” – on my profile, which would remove that entirely… and so the only way for people to communicate with me would be via msg. Its one of those things im weening myself into 🙂 – and Im making a commitment not to read through status updates any more… if I log in to check a message and see some, thats ok… but to log in and just scroll through daily- to see what so and so is saying or what he or she is doing – it just isnt needed.

Life has just gotten to technical… to complicated and to full…

What happened to the days where someone called you up on the phone and asked how you were…. rather than a wall post on facebook. Don’t get me wrong, Its always nice to get a “ive been praying for you” or “id love to get together” on your wall… but…

I dont know about anyone else, Id much rather have a good phone conversation 🙂 – I think my friend Kelly can attest to that, I called her at 8am this morning and she still had sleepy voice – HAHA! I just enjoy that a lot more than keeping up via facebook status…

and I know im rambling on here… and I know I cant talk to everyone on the phone 🙂 – but im all for simplifying things – and if that means backing away from facebook – than this is a step I’m excited to take.

About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in friends, ministry, random, scripture, struggles. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Slow to anger

  1. Stacey says:

    I think I should take on the Facebook challenge too. I need some more quiet in my life!

  2. Aliesha says:

    Love this post! Thanks for being so honest about what God is teaching you right now. It’s an inspiration and an encouragement!

  3. shanilie says:

    Great post! I sooo hear you. I have recently removed several people from my friends list. Just awful things being posted. I start most of my days off being hurt or angry by certain comments I either receive, or see others receive. It’s SO HARD to let go. I’ve tried….and tried. I don’t really know what to do. I’ve deleted it and readded before, but it’s not just strangers, its family members too. Thank you for sharing the verses.

  4. Nicole says:

    Simplify, Simplify, Simplify. That’s my mantra right now. I believe that Satan uses these tools (FaceBook, LinkedIn, Twitter, etc…) to keep us out of God’s Word. Sometimes we think we can minister to folks better (or easier) through electronic media. I agree totally with…sometimes a phone call is worth much more than written words.

    Pray that God shows us all how to be content with simplifying our lives and in return helping us to get back to spending more time in His Word.

  5. tanya says:

    I have tried to walk away from FB completley before. It didn’t work. I did end up cutting my friends list and need to do it again. I understand and agree with all the points you made.

    I am NOT a phone person at ALL so fb has been a way to communicate with friends and family.

    In fact, when I did shut my account down my family begged me to put it back up becauae they never heard from me.

    I am proud of you for taking the step to simplify your life this way. Thank you for the verses you shared today. They are one I often come back to and it was nice to see them today.

    Bless you Andrea. Your blog is the first one I check on daily from my blog roll.

Leave a Reply

