Shag

IMG_3184Thursday night I had a meeting in the town over w/ a few of the home school moms (1 dad) – to discuss a small intimate graduation service we want to do for our kindergartners. After the meeting one of the moms (Shannon – mom of 4) – and I went shopping! I mean why not, right? We were both kid free and in no rush to go home and wash dishes πŸ™‚

So we dropped by BIG LOTS – because there was a sale going on…

Big Lots btw is one of those spots that sometimes you find junk, other times you find some awesome deals on some great items.

I have been on the look out for a carpet type shag rug for our living room.

Our entire home except for the bathrooms/kitchen has hardwoods in it… so theres no “soft spots” for our children to lay or play. I have a small play room rug the kids use in there, but thats it.

So when I saw a brown shag rug for $49.00 – I was drawn in…

Shannon and I checked the rug out, opened it up in the store – and debated about it for a few…
Ultimately decided, I can buy it – if it doesnt work I have 30 days to bring it back.

The Rug was also 20% off! πŸ™‚
Making it $40 at check out.

When I got home I put the rug down and realize that with a rug, Owen would be limited in his “walker access” – so I put the rug against a wall in the living room, still allowing enough space for Owen to cruz by with his Walker if he wanted.

Once Owen is done using his walker and walking on his own, we will center the rug with the room.

So far we love this inexpensive shag rug deal I found. It is the perfect touch to our simple living room area.

IMG_3185-2

and… for fun, heres a quick cell picture (not as fancy as the above ones, but still to cute not to share)
of all 3 boys hanging out on the shag rug, after making a library run…

we finally have a rug!

About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in house keeping. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Shag

  1. Sarah says:

    Awesome. I have been looking for a rug like that. I may stop by the big lots around here and see if they have one.

  2. stef says:

    I love hardwood, but I LOVE rugs ON hardwood πŸ™‚ You got a great deal too! any rug this size under $100 is a great deal. I need to get on google maps and see about finding a Big Lots near us πŸ™‚

  3. ElisabethCS says:

    Very cute! I love how Owen is kissing or sucking on the book. I love library runs!

  4. Cassidy says:

    LOVE IT!!!! We need one on our hardwood floors too! I will have to check out Big Lots. That’s a great deal on a great looking rug! (and a perfect neutral color!)

    Love the pic of the boys on it!!!

    Smiles, Cass

Leave a Reply

