We need a School Name…

IMG_3175With an upcoming Kindergarten graduation coming into play 🙂 – I have been told we need to pick an official school room name.

Caleb has been calling our school room the “school cloud” – since relocating it into their cloud-inspired bedroom. While I love the cute-ness of “school cloud” – im not so sure I want my son in college filling out transcripts having to write down he attended grade school – high school in a school called the “School Cloud” 🙂 — soooo… I need a more official and professional sounding name.

Id love ideas 🙂

So comment listing possibilities for us 🙂

Here are some name ideas I have just off the top of my head.

– Wood Academy (oooh so original lol)
– West Wood Academy (because we’re on the west end of town – Travis’ ideas here)

Caleb’s Ideas:

– Learning New School
– Learning School (He must have a theme going here)
– Happy New Learning (lol sorry , got to giggle)
– Bible Kinder
– Cursive School
– Word School
– New York (ok?) lol
– Capital Learning (hmmm)

Taite’s Ideas:

– Cheese Burger
– School Out
– Banana

Some word idea’s to throw around…

– Institute
– Academy
– Scholars 🙂
– Id love to incorporate scripture…
something having to do with discipleship, direction…

and once I pick, ill be sure to post what we pick in another post.
So give me some help 🙂

About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in home school. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to We need a School Name…

  1. Renee says:

    haha I had
    “Woodland institution ~ raising generations of godly man”
    but then taught what happens if you have girls in the future!

    – Back in the Wood school
    – The growing Oak Academy ( Oak for the biblical meaning of strong oak,, righteous oak but play on Wood)

    Tell us when you pick a name up 🙂

  2. I think we called our The X Academy. X being in our last. 🙂

  3. oops… x being our last NAME! LOL

  4. shanilie says:

    I went to Colchester Christian Academy. My friends in the city went to Halifax Christian Academy. I like the word Christian in it lol. Plus, Colchester and Halifax describe the place. So I think it would have a nice ring if you included the ‘west’

    West-Wood Christian Academy? I like Caleb’s and Taite’s list lol Lots of great ideas. 🙂

  5. heather says:

    Cheese Burger Academy? haha

    I love the idea of Oak in the name…
    http://www.bible-topics.com/Oaktree-The.html
    I’m sure other readers and you and travis would have other scripture based ideas also.
    I think naming your school sounds FUN!

  6. When you register with the state you also need a name!! SO we’ll be choosing a name in August:)

    I like having the last name in it!! Have fun choosing one;)

  7. Chris Haynes says:

    I like the idea of Wood Academy!!!

  8. Valerie says:

    My two cents:

    Since your last name is WOOD, I think that “Cedars of Lebanon Academy” or Tall Cedars Academy” would be appropriate. You could use Psalm 104 as your theme since it talks about God providing for our every need (something we depend on as we teach our children!!) This chapter also talks about everything bringing glory to God (the reason we educate our children).

    A few other ideas would be “The Way of Wisdom Academy” or “Insight Institute” or “Precepts Institute” with appropriate verses as your theme.
    Some people also use Latin phrases like “Veritas Academy” (means Truth); “Credendum Academy” (means Believe); “Laus Deo Academy” (praise to God); “Dei Gratia Academy” (by the grace of God).

    Have fun choosing a name!! Blessings to you as you continue to train up these young men for HIS glory!
    ❤ Valerie

  9. Bren says:

    I am really liking West Wood Academy (Go Travis! ;). I was trying to think of some names, but compared all of them to Travis’ and nothing sounded better than his. I do however, LOVE the idea of adding Christian to it. My youngest son’s middle name is Christian because I love adding that religious touch. Now, as a mom of two kids at UNC in Chapel Hill, I will say, make sure it is something that does not sound silly. Getting into a good college is hard enough without having to defend your school’s name. Unicorn School of the Arts will not get you any college points, lol. West Wood Christian Academy sounds scholarly, religious, and downright ivy league if you ask me. Whatever you choose, it sounds like you are headed in the right direction!

  10. Aliesha says:

    Tad suggests Home Education for Lifelong Learning.

    I’m still thinking…
    😉

  11. maggie says:

    I vote for Cheese Burger!

    I like Westwood Academy, though. Sounds fancy.

  12. PamJ says:

    Looks like you have lots of suggestions to think about! I think I like West Wood Christian Academy…

  13. Laura says:

    Maybe you could put it together…Westwood Academy. I like that. We opted against just having our last name because on transcripts and diplomas I didn’t want my child’s last name and principal and teacher’s name to be the same as the school name. However, I think with Westwood you could have your last name in there without it being “obvious”. 🙂

  14. heather says:

    As for what Laura above wrote… I heard from a mom at church today who said the same thing. She said that the State of NC suggests NOT using your name at all. Just a thought. Can’t wait to hear what you decide on!

  15. Dreawood says:

    oh my … so many good ideas!!! Travis and I are stil debating back and forth, we will post what we pick soon enough 🙂

Leave a Reply

