Home School thoughts so far…

picplz_uploadWe are on day 93 of our home schooling – and Caleb is very exited about day 100. He plays a game online that sings a song about the 100th day of school – so he thinks something special happens on that day. I think we may have to play that up a bit so he isnt disappointed. 🙂

– any ideas of what we can do special, please comment! 😀

cause im not sure what we will do as of now.

Home School thoughts so far…

Its amazing.

and so worth the work.

I will say it takes sacrifice… there are many mornings I am frustrated with the state of my home… and the inability to do what I want to in regards to that, due to my time being spent schooling now. Some mornings Owen refuses to nap & requires a bit more attention, which makes it hard for me to do what I need to with Caleb. Some days Taite just wants to play.. and wants his big brother to play with him… the pull of attention can be hard… it takes balance and training.

Each day that we finish a day of schooling I am so thankful that the Lord has given us the ability to do this… It is a blessing!

3 John 4
I have no greater joy than to hear that my children are walking in the truth.

he's really concentrating

Deuteronomy 6:6-9
“And these words, which I am commanding you today, shall be on your heart; and you shall teach them diligently to your sons and shall talk of them when you sit in your house and when you walk by the way and when you lie down and when you rise up. “And you shall bind them as a sign on your hand and they shall be as frontals on your forehead. “And you shall write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates.

About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in home school. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Home School thoughts so far…

  1. Bren says:

    When I did A Beka home schooling for our kids, a special day (like day 100!) meant a big treasure hunt. I’d hide clues (at least 20) all around the house with a surprise at the end. How big of a surprise depends on you, but 100 is your theme ;). Maybe 100 m&m’s? (If I’m not mistaken a small package had like 43…yes, we counted them for a math sorting lab w/the kids =). Between the two boys 100 might not be too much, especially if you tell them to eat some now and save some for later if it is too much, or even share with Daddy. Hehe. Congrats, it IS a milestone!

  2. connie says:

    It’s funny that you’re posting about this~I posted on FB about this last nite. My youngest son is in kindergarten & today is the 100th day of school. This isn’t what you would consider “special” but Kendall’s teachers suggested that the kiddies dress up as an “old” person since it’s the 100th day of school. I wasn’t sure how that’d go over w/Kendall but when I got him up this morning & told him it was time to dress up as an old person, he was VERY excited! I posted on FB last nite asking for suggestions because I am limited on $$ @ this time & couldn’t go out & buy anything. I got some really good suggestions~I used some of the suggestions I received as well as some of my own.

    This is what we did: Kendall wore a shirt that I tucked into his pants, pants that were really to short for him to normally wear but were *perfect* for this occasion, a belt, a blazer, an old pair of my hubby’s glasses & an old wooden cane of my hubby’s that was his grandfather’s. And the most fun thing that Kendall enjoyed: we put baby powder in his hair & it makes it look gray. I had to put quite a bit because Kendall’s hair is blondish, like Taite’s. I bet it would work REALLY well w/Caleb’s hair since his is darker.

    Anyway, just wanted to offer that & like I said, don’t know if it’s what one would consider “special” but it was alot of fun for Kendall. Hope you guys have fun w/whatever you come up with.

    P. S. Love the new look on your blog 🙂

  3. connie says:

    I just read Bren’s comment & remembered something. Kendall’s teachers sent a note home 1st of the week asking for Kendall to bring in a large bag of M & M’s (enough to have 100~we sent in 2 bags, just to be safe & be sure there’d be 100) for some project they had planned. I’m curious to see what that is 🙂

  4. arminda says:

    I never thought about doing something to mark our 100th day. That’s a great idea! Is it bad that I don’t know what day we are actually on? hehe I have had a few days where I have had the thought “did we make the right choice with homeschooling?” but them something will happen that overwhelms me with thankfulness and I once again God reassures me that this is right for our family.

    You’re so right, it IS a blessing that we are able to do this. 🙂

    • Drea says:

      @arminda, Im not sure there is an exact 100th day, because every home schooler has their own pace. We’ve had to skip a few days and do a few days over – etc… so our 100th day isnt for another 5-6 days..

      and Ive had that question before too. you arent alone there 🙂 but just like you,something happens and its just reassurance! I really think Satan wants those who are called to home school, to be tempted to not do it, because there are other options… but I really believe if the Lord laid it on your heart to home school your children, you should.

  5. Renee says:

    Good job on training your little one 🙂 What a blessing it is for both of you I’m sure (even when it’s not easy) About day 100, maybe a cupcake with a candle like a birthday thing, making the accomplishment special 🙂

    On a different note here is what Rebekah said while I was reading this post!

    R: “Mama, boy with a watch”
    M: “This is Caleb, he as a clock, he is learning to tell time”
    R: ” Mama, Caleb is CUTE”

    Oh boy, I think we are in trouble hehe!!!!!

  6. tanya says:

    I am so proud of you! Your work and dedication to teaching your children is great. Keep it up. I love hearing your home school updates so keep them coming.

  7. stef says:

    marking the 100th day as special seems like a great idea! I hadn’t thought of it either 🙂
    I’m in my first year with our almost 6 year old son and though its had its challenging moments (for sure!) its been the biggest blessing for him and I! I love the learning time together, solving problems, bonding, exploring new things and taking huge steps together. The good days have far out weighed the bad. And I’ve learned to let go of the every day little things (like obsessing over laundry) a little more.
    I still obsess. Just not as much 😉

  8. Renata says:

    Yay!. Now you can tell moms of preschoolers who are nervous about homeschooling their kids that it’s not as scary as you thought it would be.

  9. heather says:

    Hey Drea-
    Congrats on hitting day 100!
    My older son’s class is making a mix of 100 things for their 100th day. They take 10 of 10 things: cheerios, candy hearts, m and ms, skittles, mini marshmellows, fruit loops, cookie crip, goldfish, pretzels, and raisins and put them in a ziplock as a special snack to take home. This works great as they are mastering the ones and tens places in math as well. He thinks the idea is great and is really excited about it. Seems age appropriate for your two older ones. 🙂
    However you celebrate, be sure to pat yourself on the back for a good and faithful job so far!

  10. I agree… so hard but so worth it! Such a blessing!

    britt

  11. Aliesha says:

    Congrats on almost 100 days! Glad things are going so well for you guys. 🙂

  12. Becky says:

    Do lots of 100 things…you could count to 100 as many different ways as you can…by 1’s, 5’s, 10’s, 2’s. Make a collection of 100 things, make a “100” hat, have a 100 snack with 100 items…I think someone suggested this already…10 things of 10…make a 100 necklace, string on 100 fruit loops or cheerios or some other type of circle cereal, draw what he thinks he’ll look like when he’s 100, write what he would do with $100, go on a search for 100 kisses, see if 100 licks would get to the bottom of a dum dum, tootsie pop or some other type of sucker, put together a 100 piece puzzle…100, 100, 100…Yay for 100!

Leave a Reply

