Slathered Jelly

I read a devotional today on ODB... I love that site btw…
and since the devotionals change daily, I wanted to just copy/paste todays up on my blog
It hit the nail on the head for me today and so I wanted to share it.

So heres what I read…

You have heard that it was said,
“You shall love your neighbor and hate your enemy.”
But I say to you, love your enemies.

—Matthew 5:43-44

If you were to ask me who I am, I’d tell you that I’m a follower of Jesus. But I have to admit, at times following Him is a real challenge. He tells me to do things like rejoice when I’m persecuted (Matt. 5:11-12); to turn the other cheek (vv.38-39); to give to someone who wants to take from me (vv.40-42); to love my enemies, bless those who curse me, and do good to those who hate me (vv.43-44). This kind of lifestyle seems very upside down to me.

But I’ve come to realize that He’s not upside down—I am. We have all been born fallen and broken. Being twisted by sin, our first instincts are often wrong, which inevitably leaves a big mess.

We’re like toast slathered with jelly that has fallen upside down on the kitchen floor. Left to ourselves, we can make a pretty big mess of things. Then Jesus comes along, like a divine spatula, scrapes us off the floor of our sinful ways, and turns us right side up. And as we follow His right-side-up ways, we discover that turning the other cheek keeps us from getting caught in a brawl, that it is more blessed to give than to receive, and that dying to self is life at its best.

After all, His ways are not our ways (Isa. 55:8), and I’ve come to realize that His ways are always best!

– Credit for this by Joe Stowell


About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in ministry, scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Slathered Jelly

  1. stef says:

    Again Drea, just what I needed this morning. I needed to read these words and God knew it. Not because I need to be happy my sister went back (again) to her abusive husband, taking her 4 little kids with her, but because I need to remember that God points out over and over that this life will be hard. His path is narrow and His ways are foreign to us. Where we want to throw in the towel and give up, He tells us to pray, believe, press on. Remembering its HIM who’s in control. Not us.

    Love your blog!!

Leave a Reply

