Trying to be fashionable :)

For some time now I have been trying to find a sense of style that fit my personality.

I love fashion and all those TV shows like Project Runway… however, I seemed to lack a sense of style when it came to my own personal wardrobe. I was just never sure what looked good on my body type.

Since Aliesha started coming to our church Ive started noticing some of her outfits and really liked them – and thought that if she can pull them off, why couldn’t I.

I just never had the guts to try…

So a couple months ago (or weeks? I forget hehe) – Aliesha and a few other friends of mine went shopping together to TJ Maxx – where I then asked Aliesha to pick me out some fancy boots.

Since having Owen my shoe size went up YET AGAIN – so all my close toe’d shoes no longer fit me , except for those stretched out from age.

IMG_2941

So Aliesha picked me a boot… and while at 1st I was nervous id look funny… I have really enjoyed them. I can wear them with dresses as well as under slacks or a fun jean.

I don’t think im as fashionable as some 🙂 – but im learning…

Hopefully I don’t look to silly in my attempts 😀

I got rid of half my wardrobe last year – and with my pregnancy with Owen I stretched out almost all my clothes… so I am hoping to find some great bargains here and there to re-fill things and purge old things.

The dress in the photo above was one I got this past weekend from Belk.
It was originally $44 (crazy!!) – I paid $2.50 🙂
The black cover up that I put over the dress was $6.00 (I forget the price but it was over $20 originally)

So heres to having fun with my wardrobe 🙂
yet still enjoying days with jeans and sweats 😀

About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in fashion, friends. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Trying to be fashionable :)

  1. Aliesha says:

    of course you look fashionable! 🙂 what an awesome deal on that dress you wore today! love bargains like that. and i love the new layout on your blog.

  2. stef says:

    oh my goodness, the whole outfit is fabulous! I’m not fashionable AT ALL, so I’m terribly impressed when shoes actually go with an outfit 🙂
    Love it.

    Also, the background on your site is perfect! I’m loving the layout.

  3. arminda says:

    The boots are adorable! And I LOVE the new background on your blog! 🙂

  4. I think its a super cute combo. It’s fun to match things together in different ways. I’m guessing you will be able to wear that black top with a number of different outfits!

  5. Eve says:

    I think you look beautiful in your new outfit.

  6. Elisabethcs says:

    Love all of it! New background is right up my alley. And you look awesome!!!

  7. Allison says:

    Seriously, I need you to teach me how to do these aswesome blog layouts …or could I recrute you to give my blog a makeover??? I love the new look blog and clothes!

    • Dreawood says:

      @Allison, ooooo allison! lol you dont even know! I have had so much trouble learning CSS.
      I use to be awesome with HTML and blogger.com is HTML, when I switched my blog to wordpress I struggled and still do.
      Its a huge learning curve… however with the help of a few wordpress savy friends (Sheena and Heather) I was able to pull this off pretty easily. 🙂
      If I had more time id love to do yours! Arent you blogger?

  8. Shannon says:

    I think you look great! 🙂 I LOVE boots!! And they look great on you!

  9. scatterbrain says:

    You look great!! And I really, really admire your guts!! My sense of style has been stagnating for the past decade but I’m too scared to attempt a style make over!!

    I love the new look on your blog and the pictures you have up on your wall!

  10. Stacey says:

    You’re SOOOO cute! And those boots make your legs look tiny, lol 😉 I have huge calf muscles that fill out boots. In fact, in the past I’ve had trouble finding boots that fit over them! I should show you my new boots too 🙂

    • Drea says:

      @Stacey, yea i have chicken legs, well maybe not chicken legs, but my legs are prob one of the smallest problem areas i have 🙂 – they dont gain weight hardly any. I think large calves tho look awesome! i want mine a wee bigger 🙂

  11. Sarah says:

    I think you look great. So cute!

  12. Kalle says:

    Love those boots and the whole outfit. You look awesome, just like always.

  13. Sarah says:

    You’re so cute! 🙂 Of course I think you are cute even in t-shirt and jeans pictures that I’ve seen of you here.

    Love the outfit, and what a great bargain! I’m working on my frumpy mom tendencies (or at least planning to…once this baby comes) and hoping to look a little more put together more of the time. My feet change a lot in pregnancy too. I’ve been waiting to buy some new ones after things normalize a little. 😉

    I sort of feel like my battle is over being comfortable enough to chase 4 babies/toddlers around, being pulled at and spit up on, and trying to look cute at the same time. 🙂 Thanks for the inspiration!

  14. Robyn says:

    Very cute outfit.

    What does it say next to each of the kid’s pictures on the wall?

Leave a Reply

