Can we pretend?

IMG_3863Some of you all may of read my santa post yesterday…
I thought id post a recent conversation Caleb and us had in the car…
We were out delivering Christmas gifts and cards to a few church members and shut ins.
Our kids did amazingly and hugged all those sweet ladies like they were their own grandmothers.
I was very proud of them.

As we were driving back to the house Caleb said:

“I know Santa isn’t real… but can I pretend he is?”

After reading a post yesterday by a Pastor at Marshill Church, I was all for pretending and using an imagination.

Theres nothing WRONG with Santa… I didnt want my post to come across that I thought Santa was evil, or sinful or anything like that.. because I don’t think that is it…

I just think lying to our children about it isn’t wise….

Again thats just my thoughts… but I would encourage you to read this Pastors short post about what his family does… and why. He strong encourages the imagination of a child.. but he also tells his kids the truth. He has 5 kids and this has worked beautifully for his family.. and I think it could for many…

READ THE POST HERE

IMG_3872

IMG_3853

“Take [your children] by the hand and lead them in the way of the Master.” Ephesians 6:4b


(Thank you mckmama for that verse today!)

About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in christmas. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Can we pretend?

  1. Sarah says:

    I think this is so true. If we lie to them about Santa, then find out he is not real how are they suppose to believe that Jesus is real.

  2. Laura says:

    Thanks for sharing… with a 6 and 4 year old, we mainly focus on celebrating Christmas as Jesus’ birthday. But I never quite know how to respond when my kids ask if Santa might be real. Actually, today my son was trying to convince me that Santa might make him a Donkey Kong Game for his Wii, and I mostly just stumbled around trying to say I didn’t think so. I appreciate you sharing your heart and the article… it was very helpful 🙂

Leave a Reply

