$5.00 Bottle with Lights?

IMG_0033A few years ago I stayed at a place called Big Mill Bed and Breakfast. It was beautiful! One of the things that caught my eye in the rooms were wine bottles with christmas lights! It was such a fun idea and I told myself, one day id make one.

Years later, I finally did 🙂

Heres what I used:

~ Sparking Grape
Juice Bottle

– $2-$4.00 – depending on where you buy it.

~ A stand of SHORT
Christmas lights

– $1.00 – from the DOLLAR TREE
(walmart has some for $1.50)

I then took the bottle after it was empty (few days later) and put it in our dish washer.

The dishwasher stripped every bit of the paper residue left on after peeling the labels off… and I was left with a perfectly green and beautiful bottle. Im not sure if this is bad for dish washers? Im a new dish washer owner.. but the left over paper seemed to come off fine and I just picked up the remaining pieces on the dish washer floor.

Once your bottle is clean and ready you then…
shove the lights into the bottle, one by one. Its a bit tricky, but they will fit.

and, thats it!

I had a beautiful Christmas decoration for under $5.00

I have since made 2 of these and love them.

I will probably purchase WHITE LIGHTS as well to use year round in them.

They make a great night light as well.

Im sure any wine bottle would work as well. But sparking grape juice is cheaper 🙂 – you could even check out a thrift shop for old bottles, im sure you could find lots that way for even less.

Have fun!

IMG_0030

About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in christmas. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to $5.00 Bottle with Lights?

  1. Sarah says:

    What a cute idea! I love it!!

  2. Donna says:

    I recently saw this at some shops in Amish country…Ive been wanting to do it!! Maybe this week. I have some empty wine bottles from anniversaries!

  3. tanya says:

    I love it. I am going to try it out. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Bridget says:

    My mom does this with old mason jars and it’s beautiful!

  5. Chris HAynes says:

    My parents have made these and then the glass blocks ..With the bottle I have i do have a paper clip at the top to hold the strands so that the end dosen’t fall.Dad drilled a hole at the bottom of the bottle thats how I put the lights in and they do last quite a while…

  6. Sarah says:

    Very cool. I want to do this. So pretty.

  7. I’ve used an empty flower vase:) Love the simplicity.

  8. Lindsay says:

    My mom does this with Mason jars and also fills them up with potpourri, they look and smell nice!

  9. stef says:

    I love this idea!!!! I’m going to try it. Awesome stuff.

  10. Jenn says:

    You can get the battery operated lights for cheap at Dollar General, too. My mom makes these using the big glass blocks. Dad drills the holes in them. She also ties ribbon around them so they look like presents! They’re so pretty. Nice & cheap decorations!!

  11. Judy Tice says:

    sound like fun…wish i knew it before chirstmas….I am going to try it the lights will be on sale sunday i might do them in white lights for all year long..Merry Chirstmas to your family…you have such beauitful children

Leave a Reply

