Run from or Run to

Yesterday evening at our church we had a woman come speak… she was coming to tell the story about how Susan’s Kids started… and boy was it inspiring!

I helped donate some of my photography services for Susan’s kids not to long ago… it went into a drawing and was a great success.
I at the time didn’t know much about Susan’s kids… but what I did know made me want to help in some way.

After hearing the full story about it however… and how God worked… I was just really inspired.

I was also touched by the story of Susan’s mother… and hearing how she handled her daughters passing…
Susan was in her early 20’s when she passed away… and I just can’t imagine having to go through the loss of a child…
I have had a few friends over the years who have however… and have seen 1st hand what happens when someone looses a child… and theres 2 things that happen…

People either run from Christ…

… or Run to Christ.

The story shared last night from this mother and her faith…. and the way the Lord has used her own daughters passing in such an amazing way… to not only grow her but launch this foundation is unreal… To see a joy come out of what seems like an impossible situation, is just evidence of God’s amazing hand in our lives, when we surrender to Him.

I really appreciated her coming and speaking… I hope those who were there got a lot out of it as well.

One piece of scripture she shared when speaking about her daughter… that was so powerful comes from Isaiah 54…
She spoke on how she had wished her daughter would of experienced having a child… because she knew how much her daughter wanted children… as a newly wed she never got to experience it… but then she came across this scripture…

“Sing, O barren,
You who have not borne!
Break forth into singing, and cry aloud,
You who have not labored with child!
For more are the children of the desolate
Than the children of the married woman,” says the LORD.
2 “ Enlarge the place of your tent,
And let them stretch out the curtains of your dwellings;
Do not spare;
Lengthen your cords,
And strengthen your stakes.
3 For you shall expand to the right and to the left,
And your descendants will inherit the nations,
And make the desolate cities inhabited. “

Isn’t Gods Word amazing?!

One other thing her speaking inspired me to do, is to look more into adoption.

THOSE CHILDRENS FACES… Oh my… Im not one to be easily “Teary eyed”… takes A LOT… but those photographs of those sweet children in Africa touched me so much.. I wanted to take so many of them home just by seeing them.

We want to adopt. We always have…

Even with having 3 kids of our own… to be able to adopt a child would be incredible….

The one thing that seems to be standing in our way are finances… but I know if its the Lords will, He will provide…

I don’t know where we would adopt from… part of me would love to do an international adoption… but at the same time, im not sure I would be able to leave here to go overseas and work all that out, since my children are so young. I see such a need here as well for children… so either w

About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in ministry, scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Run from or Run to

  1. Renee says:

    Adoption as been on my heart too, I keep praying for the Lord’s will in this matter! I read that it would take only 6% of all christian to adopt to take care of all the orphans, 6%!!!!

    Maybe we are not all call to adopt but we are all call to do something!!!

  2. Stacey says:

    That’s an incredible story. Keep praying, and God will lead you where He wants you to be 🙂

  3. Joy says:

    I agree Renee. I have always felt led to adopt. I had some problems prior to having our DD and I stated that I would only try one more time before doing adoption. I still feel that I am going to adopt at some point. I just feel so strongly about it. I don’t know how we will afford it, but I know it is something I am going to try absolutely everything to do.

Comments are closed.