The Decorating

The day after we got our tree… it was time to decorate.
The boys were excited and eager to get into those ornaments.

Since we got married we had a collection of ornaments.
Mostly given to me from my parents… and a few we purchased ourselves, that 1st year of marriage.

Want a flash back? 🙂

1stchristmas1stchristmas2

Here I am with our 1st ever Christmas tree.
Before it was decorated then after…

I still remember where the “tree necklaces” – as my boys call them, came from.

DOLLAR GENERAL.. WOO HOO.

I still have them 🙂 and we still use them.

For proof…
Here are 2 Christmas photos…
1 from Calebs 1st Christmas in Ohio…
and then one from Taites 1st Christmas! – at just 8 days old.

calebs1st

taites1st

& I know you all want a close up of Taite in that santa outfit.

taitechristmas

He was in a preemie size! 🙂

IMG_0682So… decorating our tree this year…

WENT SO WELL.

I put on the lights…
and after they were up, the boys had at it.

We have a big tub full of the ornaments.. they are in no particular order… and you basically grab and go.

I have no theme.

Just an assortment of past crafts, memories and keepsakes.

and… really, I love it 🙂

I wouldnt have it any other way…
and I love going through the ornaments every year…
each one bringing back memories.

Sure my tree may not look like something in a magazine…
It might not be perfect.

It may have a few broken ornaments…

But the sweet smiles.. and excitement I see from my children as they put it together, WORTH SO MUCH MORE! 🙂

I hope to one day let them put the lights on too 😉

Heres a few photos from the experience…

IMG_0669

Owen was very excited to see “lights”

IMG_0649

IMG_0639

We however… ended up having to push him back and block his way.
Chewing on lights may not be the safest of toys 🙂

IMG_0644IMG_0643

IMG_0652IMG_0662

IMG_0664

IMG_0672

IMG_0678

Taite got excited with the next ornament… because it had Uncle Kevin, Nana, Papa, Mama & Carla (my parents cat)

IMG_0688

I hope you all are having fun creating memories this Christmas!

IMG_0659

About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in caleb, family, holidays, Owen, Taite. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Decorating

  1. Renee says:

    love it! btw Rebekah when she saw you in the first 2 picture say, smile, say cheese, pretty lady 🙂 that’s my girl 🙂

  2. Kim says:

    What a great time you all had! I love making memories with our kids. And its so much fun when you hear them to tell you the memories that they have from the previous christmas’!

  3. stef says:

    cute! we did this the other day as well and our 2 year old just thought she had died and gone to Christmas Heaven 🙂

  4. Sarah says:

    Looks like a lot of fun. Great photos.

  5. Mindy Harris says:

    the santa hat. bestill my heart!

  6. AWESOME photos, love the way the tree looks, ours looks a little lobsided too 🙂

Leave a Reply

