Random thoughts before the Shop

droidFor the past few years Ive gone shopping on black friday.

Why? well… honestly, because I think its kinda fun. Not sure why…

I never even have a set “list” most times.

We prob spend a fraction of what most families do on Christmas. [and Im not saying that at all to boast or bag … its just something we’ve always tried to budget… although I will be the 1st to admit my husband goes overboard, and yes, ITS HIM not ME πŸ˜‰ im the tight one with money, unless it comes to camera gear πŸ˜‰ ]

So that brings me to some random thoughts I started having this week on shopping this year…

With the recent purging of items in our home… and decluttering… it got me thinking.

Do we really need much?

I mean sure I want my kids to enjoy a few gifts and have that same fun and excitement other kids have this time a year… however, do I really need to go into debt to do it? Do I really need to stand in lines for hours or get up at 2am? Do my kids really need all those toys? Do I need nick nacks and patty wacks? ok whats a patty wack? – I hope thats not something dirty :-\

The more and more I look around though…

I realize…

We don’t.

Sure its nice to get new things…
and treat our kids to an overload of goodies…

but… I want my children to really understand the true meaning of Christmas… but more than that I want to be able to give to others this time a year. Why spend all our funds on blessing “just us”…. its one reason why I felt compelled to help with “Portrait-Help” this year…

schoolingIm not going to stop telling grandparents to buy their grandbabies gifts…

Im not going to stop giving loved ones gifts… I like doing that.

and I know that grandparents adore to treat their children and grandchildren.

So Im not going to be a humbug…?

but… I really really desire to fill Christmas this year with memories of us sitting around a campfire with our children.

Roasting marshmallows and snuggling up in our snuggies together (oh yes, we have snuggies, 2!)

Enjoying a nice yummy meal that we all enjoy (not just Travis and I haha)

Reading stories about baby Jesus and the sacrifice He made for us.

Having christmas parties with loved ones.

Eating way to many desserts πŸ™‚

Watching Owen dismantle our Christmas tree… and laughing about it.

Going some place special to see Christmas lights!

I dont know where im leading with all this πŸ™‚

Again, just my thoughts after waking up for a very short and some what annoying nap attempt (really, I need to stop trying to nap!)

Im off to do a last minute dinner for tonight before Thanksgiving services at church. Remember reading about my being spontansous? yeah, im like that with food too. My kids ask me all the time “whats for dinner?” I tell them “ummm….” and Caleb now responds “You havent thought that far yet, huh?” LOL – so true.

So… since I totally skipped doing a “WHAT IM THANKFUL POST” πŸ™‚ – oops…. you all know what Im thankful for πŸ˜€
I will just end by wishing all of you celebrating Thanksgiving tomorrow.
I hope your tummys are filled and you have lots of laughter!

I will be missing my parents this thanksgiving, as they can’t make it up this year.
We look forward to seeing them on Christmas Eve πŸ™‚

About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in caleb, family, Owen, random, Taite. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Random thoughts before the Shop

  1. Stacey says:

    Excellent post Drea. Keith and I are feeling the same way. But neither of us is a big spender for gifts anyway. We plan on doing a “one in, one out” rule. Which basically means that for every new toy the kids get, they need to give something to charity. It helps to keep the clutter down, and that way they can enjoy their new toys without all the other stuff sitting around. I only thing that still really bothers me, is that Rowan will go to school and all the kids will be talking about their fancy toys and video games they got for Christmas. I hate that.

  2. Valerie says:

    Andrea–
    You truly warm my heart as you seek God’s priorities for your Christmas! You are looking at things SO MUCH the right way!! I am very thankful for young families like yours!!
    One way our family has sought over the years to make Christmas much more than just gifts and food for our kids is celebrating Advent, complete with Advent ring and candles…and special readings each evening. We’ve used lots of different resources over the twenty-three years of our parenting (beginning with a little A-B-C book about Advent), but I am sure our family’s favorite is “Jotham’s Journey”—which is good for probably ages 8 and above (it is a fiction story that has some scary and adventurous parts). Read about how we celebrate Advent here:
    http://steppingheavenwardeachday.blogspot.com/2007/11/advent-anticipation.html

    Here is also an article (make sure to read the 2nd page) about a JESSE TREE—a great way to teach children the meaning of who Christ is, using verses from throughout the Bible. There are some great links on the second page of this article where you can print out the symbols, etc. to color and make. http://www.crosswalk.com/parenting/11641703/
    Isaiah 11:1: “And there shall come forth a rod out of the stem of Jesse, and a Branch shall grow out of his roots.”

    May God grace you (and all your readers) with creativity in making your Christmas season special AND spiritual!!

    Love to your family!
    Valerie

    • Dreawood says:

      @Valerie, awe thanks Valerie…
      We actually do have an advent wreath. Someone at church gave us a really nice one years ago.. although its a bit big πŸ™‚ well HUGE in fact… I wouldnt mind something smaller that took up less room.. but yea the kids seemed to enjoy that last year… although I dont think they understood much of it but this year I do believe Caleb will. Taites still kinda in the “sorta kinda” phase πŸ™‚ – he can memorize things really well but doesnt put 2 and 2 together on some things haha.. hes a mess! πŸ˜€

      Im off to look at the JESSE tree!

      Hope you all have a great thanksgiving!

  3. Cassidy says:

    Great thoughts! Something for us all to “chew on.”
    Thank you for sharing this!
    Cass πŸ™‚

  4. Patricia Hintz says:

    Good thoughts, Andrea. My husband use to say that our children would not remember the gifts we gave them but they would always remember how we made them feel. It’s important to establish traditions that you do every year and the boys look forward to them.

    If you ask my girls about Christmas growing up they will talk about the traditions more than anything else; they would tell you that their dad always took one day off from work so our family could go to the big city of Seattle to look at lights, ride the escalator up to the top of Fredrick and Nelson where there was a train they could ride. They would tell you that we walked down the street holding hands singing Christmas carols in harmony and at the end of the day we would go to the big bank office building where there was a beautiful piano in the lobby and I would sit down and play Christmas carols and we would all sing and soon others would come along and join us until we had a small chorus of people singing. We didn’t spend any money except for a little food but it was always a wonderful day.

    Traditions don’t have to be that big…..we always hid their stockings and they loved reading the clues to find them (I still do it for the grandchildren) They loved acting out the Christmas story while Don read it…..we passed that along to the grandchildren also. They’ve never forgotten us sleeping in sleeping bags by the Christmas tree on Christmas eve or riding Don’s bus with him on Christmas Eve.

    You have such a sweet little family and whatever you decide to do your boys will enjoy. One last thought…..like you mentioned, always do something together as a family for others. My grandchildren enjoys making a Christmas box for Operation Christmas Child…they go together to pick out things for the box and write letters to put in the box. And most of all make the real meaning of Christmas more important than anything else.

    I love you all and wish you a very special Christmas Season.
    Aunt Patricia

  5. scatterbrain says:

    Great idea! We’re planning something along the same lines too!

  6. When i was a kid in the 80’s I dreamed that games could at some point be like thisÒ€¦ I reckon it is among the neatest inventions of all time. I will be buying my little brother one for Christmas for sure.

Leave a Reply

