Fear the Lord? like.. be scared?

We often hear people use the phrase “Fear the Lord…”
or to have a “Godly Fear”

Such as used in this verse…

“Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the LORD is to be praised.” – Proverbs 31:30

I posted that a few days ago on THIS POST.
And a sweet friend and reader of mine asked what exactly it meant… to “Fear the Lord.”
(good question btw!!)

Did it mean to be scared of God?

Well… I found the most awesome article that sums up my thoughts totally on this subject… and I just had to post it on my blog as well.

The Original article comes from MARS HILL CHURCH. I did not write this! Nor do I take credit for it. The only reason Im posting it here, are for those who may not be able to view their website or are like me, and often to busy to click another link 😉

So credit for this goes to them.

Now heres the article:

“Charm is deceptive and beauty is fleeting but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised” (Prov. 31:30).

As I think back to the woman I was in college, this verse painfully yet accurately describes me. Operating on wit and outward appearances, I managed to convince myself and others I had it all together. But I was deceived. I was drowning in my sin with no idea what my lack of fearing the Lord had to do with my desolate heart.

Fear of the Lord is one of those Bible phrases that we throw around with very little grounding in the substance of our daily lives. It is defined as reverent awe or deep respect. Sounds great, but what does that look like day in and day out? If a woman deeply respects God, how does she live her daily life?

  • First and foremost, she has a correct understanding of the character of God.
  • She has searched the Scriptures for God’s definition of God and believes it.
  • She has studied what God has revealed about Himself and relies upon this Truth rather than her experience of God.
  • She accepts His holiness and His justice as completely good.
  • She trusts in His mercy, grace, and compassion to deal with her sin and redeem her.
  • She believes that His kindness is what leads her to repentance and as such, would never presume upon the riches of His grace by taking her sin lightly (Romans 2).

OUCH. There it is–the reason I blatantly and boldly lived a life of self-indulgence and sin despite the fact that I called myself a “Christian.” I pridefully and foolishly took advantage of the cross by saying to God, “thanks for your sacrifice, but I got it from here. Love that forgiveness thing! When I’m done having fun, I’ll be back with my long list of sins that I’ll need you to take care of.” In short, I was not a woman who feared the Lord.

But God has helped me become a woman who fears Him–a repentant woman who is deeply grateful for and moved by the cross of Christ. This does not mean being afraid to go near our Awesome and Mighty God:

  • It means being terrified to be far from Him.
  • It means resting in the safety and peace of His loving arms and not straying from that place of protection.
  • It means running from the temptation to satisfy our needy hearts with someone or something other than Him.
  • It means He alone is the influence in our lives, giving us wisdom to navigate each day (Proverbs 3:7, Prov 9:10).
  • It means valuing what He values in a woman: a submissive heart, a gentle and quiet spirit, and a posture of worship.

—- Again credit for this article goes to Mars Hill Church.
Thank you for your awesome resources, sermons and more!
—- Image came from google images… I have no idea who took it though.

About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fear the Lord? like.. be scared?

  1. Nicole says:

    Thank you for sharing! I too fear the Lord! 🙂

  2. Jenn says:

    Wow…you will not believe how God used you here with this post! All day yesterday, I prayed, and asked God…what does true humility look like? I know the definition, and so desire to live it out. All day in continual pray my question was… What does true humility, awe and fear of you “look like” in the day to day…truly lived out.

    So much of everything we do originates from selfish motives. I struggle with this, and so desire to be a vessel for God to use as He wants.

    Yesterday on FB, I asked for a scripture to match the image of me worshipping that I posted. It was all about wondering what other’s thoughts of worship were, and what scripture God would bring to mind as they saw an image of worship at first glance. It was interesting to me. God also confirmed another scripture though someone who posted verses that the Lord had put on my heart about it.

    I did not see your blog post until this morning…just now!…incredible how my friend posted the same scripture under my photo image of Proverbs 31:30, the one you references here. Only God can do something like that! 🙂 Amazing!

    Thank you for being obedient to share in openness. Jenn

  3. Renee says:

    Amen! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  4. shannon says:

    or to be in awe of Him, or to have respect for Him.

Leave a Reply

