Hands Full

One of the things we did while visiting with my parents…
was to go on the “light rail” system in their city.

IMG_8824

We’ve been before…
heres a flash back memory ๐Ÿ˜‰

IMG_0245

and its always been a great time.

IMG_8833
IMG_8827
*Caleb was with us, Just dont have a picture of him on the train*

Today was beautiful, which made the trip go even smoother.
With temps in the mid 70’s… got to love NC!
We enjoyed a morning/afternoon out in the city.

When we got off the light-rail at our stop, we got to see not only a beautiful city, but also this tree.
I just love the colors of fall!

IMG_8836
IMG_8835

While walking around I decided to wear Owen in the BOBA Classic. (my husbands favorite carrier)

I am usually a mei tai or wrap kind of girl, but the BOBA is so nice on trips you know you will need a quick in and out baby carrier. It also frees my hands up.

100_3648

IMG_8840I noticed however while walking around these fancy up-town malls…. where no children were even in sight (Oh wait, kids are in school, well most hehe) – I was getting a good many stares. People think you don’t notice, but I do. Business men especially. Maybe they looked at me because I looked so darn cute wearing Owen, YEAHHHhh lol ok. ๐Ÿ˜‰ – But no, I really think when I am roaming around with 3 boys, all fairly small still… a baby on my chest, 2 holding my other hands… and I look like im in my early 20’s still (or don’t I?) – they are probably wondering “are they all hers?”

The other day I was at the Salvation Army… and I had Caleb and Taite with me.
This lady putting clothing on a shelf looked at me and said…

“You don’t look old enough to have two kids.”

I looked at her and said “Oh I don’t have two, I have three.” and smiled as I walked out.

I think these days its just not common to see women in their 20’s with so many kids.
Most people my age are just getting married! In fact almost all my brides Ive photographed get married, were older than me. ๐Ÿ™‚

So yes… I do have my hands full…
but full of sweet blessings!
Blessings who at times try me…
Who may result in a few extra wrinkles or gray hairs (none yet! hehe -watch me find grays tomorrow!)


Behold, children are a gift of the LORD, The fruit of the womb is a reward
. – Psalm 127:3

Thank you Lord for these gifts!

100_3653

IMG_8845

About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in babywearing, family, Owen, Taite, travel, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Hands Full

  1. Aura says:

    The other picture was taken on January 19, 2009 and it was the first time Caleb and Taite rode the light rail. I remember how cold it was. We’ll do it again, I’m sure. Fall is also my favorite time of the year and I’m so glad I got to spend this day with you, Caleb, Taite and Owen. Taite and Caleb did great with all the walking we did.

  2. Alison P. says:

    I love this post. It is so true. People aren’t used to seeing young, married Moms with multiple kids anymore. It’s sad. I’m 31, and I still have people say that I’m such a young Mom! Weird… Not that I’m old, but you know. Anyways, you are a beautiful young Mom, and I love the pictures! Children are definitely a blessing from the Lord!

  3. Nicole says:

    Your post was great! You do look very young ๐Ÿ™‚ I get the same thing walking around with my 4! Your pictures show so much love and children are for sure a giftfrom the Lord.

  4. Joy says:

    Love the post. It is more rare today to see a young mother w/ more than one child, but it is a gift. I love the pics of the Boba. I have one question though. Do you cross the straps in the back when carrying in the front. I have an OS and it is much more comfy crossed in the back. Thanks!!

  5. Carole says:

    I still cant see your pics (d/t our computer filtering) but I’m sure it is beautiful there! I miss NC too
    And yes, you are def. my youngest female *friend* to have so many kids!LOL
    but I know you love it

    I didnt even THINK about kids till I turned 30 last year -and the thought still scares me! HA HA
    Most people guess I am younger to tho (early 20’s) and on top of that I am married to Micah-who as you know is only 24 so I’m sure that adds to that assumption

    Anyway-hope you guys have a great trip and say HI to your mom and dad for me!

  6. Bren says:

    I had 3 kids in my 20’s and I always get the same response. Now that I have TWO in college (Go UNC!) and one in middle school, I get the incredulous, “You have 2 kids in college???” Yep, and I’ve loved every minute of it. I love being young and having raised (almost, do we ever stop?) my kids. My husband and I have always talked about our future when the kids grow up. We were married 4 years before kids so we know what that “us” time felt like and look forward to it in the future while we can still enjoy it! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. Megan C. says:

    Looks like you guys had a great trip! Such great memories you are building with your boys! Thanks for sharing that verse too! Always such a good reminder.

  8. stef says:

    I love when I get positive comments with regards to having 3 kids. Usually its something like “oh my! I guess you just lost yourself in this crowd” and it makes me sad, because I so badly want to stay and witness to them – explaining the joy God gives me through raising my family.
    Yours is beautiful! I love that we can be testimonies of God’s beautiful grace, as we walk here and there with our broods ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Sarah says:

    That looks like so much fun!! I get stares whenever I wear Carsyn.

  10. Renee says:

    Yup I have that stare too!!!! People look at me and our 3 girls like I`m some sort of alien!!!

  11. Anna says:

    My husband always thought I was imagining the stares that Iโ€™ve finally grown accustomed to when shopping with our four by myselfโ€ฆthat is until we saw a woman who was actually counting our kids out loud as we were walking by. He gave her a dirty look (heehee) and it was all I could do not to stop and tell her that four children are not that big of a deal ๐Ÿ˜‰ Most of the time I can just smile and move on but sometimes people are just plain rudeโ€ฆI mean I donโ€™t find it necessary to stare at every mother that walks by me ๐Ÿ™‚ I do love it when people stop and tell me that they had four kids all close together too and that it was the best thing they ever didโ€ฆthat always makes me smile ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. tanya says:

    I love the picture of your parents with Owen. ๐Ÿ™‚ Owen looks like he is looking at your mom as if he wants to say something to her.

    I have encoutered the same questions about having three kids and looking younger. I have actually had people not believe that my oldest(14) is mine. Even though he is a spitting image of me.
    My son thinks its hilarious because to him, I am as old as Moses.;)

  13. Andrea says:

    I get comments like that all the time too! People staring at me shopping with my 3 kids and then coming and sometimes they’ll comment on how “I must have my hands full!” Or occasionally “it’s so nice to see a young family with lots of kids”…not sure when 3 started to classify as LOTS, but I like that comment better than the you have your hands full one. ๐Ÿ™‚ That almost always seems like a negative thing when people say that we have our hands full…and like you said – I do have my hands full, but full of BLESSINGS!! And yeah…people often comment on how these kids “couldn’t all be mine!!” too…both my husband and I look quite a bit younger than we actually are too (I think so anyways. ๐Ÿ™‚ ).

  14. scatterbrain says:

    Looks like it was fun! Your hair looks nice in these pictures! I like the way it frames your face! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m 27 and I have a one and a half year old. In India, my parents generation thinks thats a nice (right) age…But me and my best friend are the only ones in our group of friends who have babies!!! And most of them have been married much longer than us! funny huh? I have no regrets though!

  15. Cara says:

    I get that a lot. Mostly from older men (and some older women.) My boys are very active also, so whenever we are going somewhere they are usually just bursting at the seams from all the energy. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

