1:30am-5am

IMG_8770Yesterday we arrived at my parents.

Travel to visit my parents is never easy… Its only a 5 hour trip, but it seems more like 10. Our boys are not good “car sleepers” – and it doesnt seem to matter what time we leave or what we do to them (hah!), they only nap about an hour the entire trip. I seriously don’t get that. Cars make me so sleepy…

We got here safe though, so thats really all that matters…
With the time change however… and a new surrounding… Owen of course did not sleep well.

At 1:30am he woke me up… I gave him some milk… he went back down, but then I was stopped up due to allergies & had trouble going back to bed.

I took a zyrtec. By 2:30am or so I felt it kick in… but then was unable to fall asleep due to a certain husbands breathing :-\ – and then when I finally started to zone out at 5am… Owen wakes. ::sigh:: – I was so tired. Travis took him at that point, but I didnt fall to sleep until close to 6am.. and then was up at 7:40am.

Travis left this morning around 9am for a conference and wont return back until Wednesday.

So Im on my own until then.

By nap time today I was ready for a solid 2 hrs of sleep… but Owen had others plan and only gave me 45 minutes before waking… but I thankfully talked my dad & mom into watching him. Caleb & Taite were busy watching a movie… so they were quiet.

I woke up around 4:30pm… so I got around an hour 1/2 of sleep, which was so needed!

November2010 025

My parents took Owen on a stroller walk while I napped… it was his 1st time in an umbrella stroller… I was so glad my mom decided to snag these cute pictures of them together. He looked so cute.

This evening Ive been up and down about 6 times with the boys… either one fell, hit their head, the other stubbed their toe, then Caleb fell off a stool while brushing his teeth, Taite wet the bed with water, Taite wanted a new shirt, Caleb kept yelling saying “Taites out of bed” – Caleb cried, woke Owen up, Taite cried, almost waking Owen again… Taite got out of bed 3 times saying “I have to pee” – when really, he didnt. He just wanted to get up. Each time Taite did something, Caleb would yell “TAITES GETTING A TOY!!!” – to the top of his lungs, which wakes Owen… after I had told Caleb to MIND HIS OWN BUSINESS AND TO STOP YELLING!, so… the night ended in “panks!” yes, we do that, but I dont spell it on my blog so I dont get haters, or at least not as many šŸ™‚ – now Im sitting downstairs attempting to watch a movie with my mom… and Taites still upstairs whimpering because he wants more water… and has to pee some more… when really.. he doesnt need to do either. So after I type this, I will prob have to go BACK UP STAIRS, Give a huge spill to them about bed time, water, peeing and yelling… and then explain to them that they can’t get out of bed again… which will im sure result in Taite loosing his blanket, (oh wait.. thats happening now “I cant find my white blanket… wahhhhhhhhh ehhhhh“), guess thats my cue.

It got me thinking about how hard it would be to be a single mother of 3… I mean seriously?
I think I would loose my mind.

Im sure the Lord shows grace to single mothers… but wow…

That was kind of a rambling tangent šŸ™‚
I love my boys, but it can be hard some days. Just keeping it real.

Oh … and did I mention I attempted to home school this morning.
Yeahhhh… that wasnt the most successful school time.

About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in caleb, family, motherhood, Owen, Taite, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 1:30am-5am

  1. Alison P. says:

    I’m sorry you had such a tough day! I’m glad you got a chance to nap! That is wonderful that your parents could help you out. I feel your pain – my boys hardly ever nap and never at the same time. I think Donovan’s longest nap is 30 minutes. Then, he gets up about 4 times a night. It is hard when they are little. I feel I’m barely functioning most days. I know this is just a season, and I have to remember that. I hope you have a wonderful time visiting your family! šŸ™‚

  2. Stacey says:

    Sounds a lot like my evening! Keith was home long enough to eat, and then was gone til 8. The kids were crazy, Emery kept falling down and hitting her head. Lots of whining, crying, bugging, and I’m already exhausted! So glad they’re in bed now šŸ™‚

  3. Stephanie Carr says:

    I literally laughed out loud at your post!! Not that is was funny just that it is so true with kids. Sorry it was so rough on you!

  4. Renee says:

    I know what you mean, bedtime when my husband is not home is way more difficult!!!!

  5. Sarah says:

    I am so sorry. hoping it is better tonight.

  6. Nicole says:

    Praying things got / get better šŸ™‚

  7. Amanda says:

    Oh thanks for that post, I needed the perspective. It’s been that kind of night and day for me. I was literally hiding out in the unfinished basement for a while just to escape the boys (two and one baby on the way) and give my brain a minute to recover sanity before facing the next crisis intervention.

Leave a Reply

