Lion-spired – Happy Bleaching

I was inspired by this lion…

I thought it was just the cutest onesie… and loved the entire look.

So I went to the local thrift shop… in search of an orange onesie.

No such luck…
I did however find an orange 3T shirt 🙂
and for $.50 – it was worth getting.

IMG_8650

That is the shirt before my tweaking.

Its a little faded… and was obviously wrinkled 🙂 but after some bleach and a brush…

I find it very fun now.

IMG_8651IMG_8705

IMG_8734

IMG_8717

Want to make one?

It was so easy.

1) Find a solid color shirt or onesie
2) Get a good thin brush. I used 2. One of my brushes was SUPER fine, I used it for the skinnier lines.
3) Get a 1/2 cup of bleach or so.
4) A few old towels

What I did was put the old towels under the 1st layer of the shirt, so that the bleach wouldn’t seep through to the back of the shirt.
I then used the brushes to paint on the drawing.

I free-handed the drawing just by looking at the image on the computer screen of the onesie off etsy.
Some may not be able to do that.. so you could just find some fun stencils??? and bleach using those as a guide.
But really.. its bleach.. it doesn’t have to be perfect!

When you finish, let it air out and dry for a day… so that the bleach really settles in.

When you wash your shirt the 1st time, wash it ALONE, just in case… and wash it with COLD water with just a dab of detergent. Then tumble dry.

If you need some inspiration, check out DillyBopDesigns on etsy. Such a fun collection of kids bleached shirts.

If you don’t want to attempt this craft yourself, you can always buy one from there 😉
But I think you’d have fun with it, if you tried…

*To those who never saw my grease stain hide technique – heres that… I did the same thing posted here, but on one of my shirts, it worked great!*

IMG_8708

Happy Bleaching!

About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in crafts, Taite. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Lion-spired – Happy Bleaching

  1. Renee says:

    wow Drea you did a wonderful job on it! What a great artist you are 🙂 I love it! now I wnat to try it!

  2. Amanda says:

    What an absolutely adorable shirt! I have seen the bleaching technique done on a few other blogs and always think “hey I can do that” but never do… lol

  3. Aura says:

    You can make Owen’s with the orange onesie I sent you, right? I really like the lion design.

    • Dreawood says:

      @Aura, Hey Mom, yea I think I might, that way it can be worn past halloween. If its solid orange only i think its to halloween ish for all year 🙂 but If i spruce it up it could be worn the rest of the winter 🙂

  4. noe says:

    It’s great!!!
    Did you do it the whole Lion’s face, or just the front part?
    Great Job!

    • Dreawood says:

      @noe, Hey Noe, I did all of it on just the front, the back is just orange 🙂 – I thought that was how the onesie was, just half a lion face. I may be wrong tho 🙂

  5. Robyn says:

    Very cool shirt! Taite’s still in 3T? Sean has been in 4T for about 2-3 months now. I cant believe they’re turning 4 in December! Where does time go?

    • Dreawood says:

      @Robyn, Robyn,
      nah, I buy taite 4T mostly. But the thrift shop only had 3T, the 3T’s are becoming to short for him, but this one was a little larger than most 3T’s around… so it works, but it wont fit him long. I will pass it along to owen 🙂

  6. Heather says:

    Oh my goodness, that is adorable.
    Love!

  7. what a creative idea! love it!

    britt

  8. Cute idea and a great way to “upcycle” an old shirt 🙂

  9. Aliesha says:

    ummm…hello, adorableness! you could start selling shirts like this!

  10. Sarah says:

    I love this! You did a great job. Can’t wait to try it!

  11. tanya says:

    What a great idea! I think I am going to head the Goodwill and get a couple shirts and let my teenagers go to work.

  12. Erica says:

    You really made it look like the onesie that inspired you! Great job! And such an easy idea too.

Leave a Reply

