A lost art?

I just had to take a picture of Caleb’s cursive practice sheet the other day…

IMG_8581

celpixEach day we do school and he knows a new letter is coming, he gets so excited.

There are some that are obviously harder than others… and when those come, he struggles and wants to skip things.

But over all he has LOVED learning to write cursive…

The other day during nap time… he spent it writing cursive. I have some place mats that are dry erase… and one of them has the entire cursive alphabet… he just sat there tracing each letter, then attempting to draw every single one…

The photo to the left was one I snagged while putting my feet up during that nap time… thats him at the school table enjoying cursive 🙂

Its a shame many schools no longer teach cursive…
It really is a beautiful art, that is sadly becoming lost in our culture.

I’m glad Caleb will learn it.

Do your kids learn it in school? if not, how about teach them?
I bet they’d love it! – maybe hehe

These are the mats Caleb was using during nap time:
They are by Melissa & Doug

I found mine at once upon a child! 🙂

IMG_8586

About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in caleb, home school. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A lost art?

  1. Wendy says:

    wow…I’m impressed:} Good job, Caleb! Our school teaches cursive, but not until 3rd grade I believe. Wesley prefers cursive for now, but as they get into older grades the teachers don’t make the kids use it.

  2. Renee says:

    wow good job Caleb!!!! Why did school stop teaching it???? I didn’t even know that they stopped?

    • Dreawood says:

      @Renee, I think SOME schools do it Renee, but many no longer do. I think because everything is in print now a days… because of computers. I think its sad they stopped tho! Im glad we are teaching Caleb

  3. Laura says:

    That’s awesome, and so fun that he is learning it and loving it!

  4. taylor says:

    yay caleb! i know cleveland municipal schools are teaching schools…in the class that i work with (2nd grade) all the kids are obsessed with writing their names in cursive, and one day when they saw me write my name in print they were completely APPALLED that i didn’t use cursive…so i think it’s still a pretty big deal

  5. Renata says:

    So beautiful!
    In Brazil they teach cursive from the start like you are doing with Caleb. J is interested in cursive and I think it will help him because it will help him write faster (which means he’ll write more). I am looking at starting in January. I just have to figure out what curriculum to use.

  6. Laura says:

    Annagrace taught herself to write in cursive when she was in 1st grade. Her teacher didn’t let her use it on her homework but we encouraged her to use it at home! She still loves to write in cursive. It’s good to see a boy–since boys are usually known for their poor penmanship!–enjoying cursive!

  7. Brynna says:

    I had no idea schools weren’t teaching cursive anymore! We will definitely be teaching our children cursive. I’d actually like to take a big step and even teach calligraphy when they’re older! We’ll see though…

  8. Ashley says:

    Caleb is doing fantastic! I was just wondering the other day when I should teach my children. I have heard about people starting right from the beginning and I think it is interesting. My son is in kindergarten and I am thinking that maybe I will start teaching him and his sister next year when they are in grade one and kindergarten. Is this part of the curriculum through ABeka? I was also wondering if you might be able to share a little more about Abeka. I am considering this for next year. Currently I am using all different curriculum choices.

  9. Laura says:

    I am using bob jones and it doesn’t do kindergarten cursive. I think it teaches pre-cursive. I didn’t realize some curriculums do cursive right away. Will he only use cursive in that curriculum? Just curious

Leave a Reply

