Avocado, mmm… fatty food :)

Since you all know I make my own baby food.

I thought id post a new favorite of Owen.

A while back I tried giving him pure avocado… It required no prep work, just a little squish with a fork… and I heard it was the fruit to give babies…

Owen however did not like it.

So I gave up and went onto peaches, apples and other sweeter fruits.

I decided to give it a go again. I hear the benefits of avocado are great, so it was worth trying twice.

Instead of giving it to him straight, I mixed it with a banana!

Since he loved bananas I figured it do the trick.

One thing I was unaware of until today was how fatty avocados are. I mean seriously… 1 cup of puree’d avocado equals around 700 calories!! It would take about 2 avocados to make that much, so each avocado is around 320-340 calories. Each avocado has 30 grams of fat. EEK!! Im like Mrs. Cut Calories Lady.. so I was like “no way!” – however… the fat in these is good fat! Fat that is good for the heart, reducing cancer risk and it can lower bad cholesterol. They are also really high in fiber.

If you are on a low calorie diet, it may not be the thing for you 🙂

However babies aren’t on diets… and fat is essential for babies development! Really, ask a Dr. if you don’t want to take my word for it.

Soooo if you tried avocado and baby said “mmm no thanks.”Try it again, but instead mix a banana with it.

Learn more about prepping avocados and learn some more cool recipes OVER HERE

About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in babyfood, Owen. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Avocado, mmm… fatty food :)

  1. Renee says:

    I love avocados so much!!!! our little one too!

  2. I love them but didn’t realize how high in fat they were. But, glad to hear that mixing them with banana’s works, for the future when I have kids someday after I am married.

  3. We will definitely be trying avocados with nate soon. I tried it for the 1st time in my life a month ago and it was soo yummy! And good fat(in moderation) is great for nursing mommies… good fat for us, good fat for baby:)

  4. Stacey says:

    Well, I think you are the last person to need to worry about a low fat die, lol, but yes, avocado is a great baby food, and a great big person food too!

  5. Jobina says:

    Sawyer had avocado tonight too. I love that they’re super easy and fast and he loves them. I’m a guacamole girl myself but I try to only make that if we’re having lentil tacos or fajitas or something. Not just with chips!

  6. kim says:

    we love avocados at our house. it was the first food i gave to my youngest and she loved them. i’ve heard before that avocados are the perfect food if you only had one thing to eat. not sure if it’s true but i’ll go with it 🙂

Leave a Reply

