School Portraits

CalebHomeSchoolPic1I have realized… Im one of those moms…
You know.. the mom who forgets to pack their kid things for lunch.. or the mom who doesnt get the memo that there is a valentine exchange going on.

Yeah that mom πŸ˜‰
Good thing I home SCHOOL LOL!! Pre-school events are hard enough for me to keep up with.

But, even with home school.. I have become that mom.

I missed school picture day!

Yes our home school group has a year book. Cool huh?

Caleb obviously is at the age I dont think this much matters… but I do think once he connects with other kids and gets into the loop of the group more, than he will appreciate this a lot. He will get to experience passing his year book around to friends he has made, and going through all his classmates photos. It will be fun.

Since we missed picture day I asked them if I could take the picture myself.. after all, I am a photographer.

They wanted me to use a “gray-ish” backdrop, kinda formal looking.. I however don’t have access to backdrops like that… I do all my shoot outdoors (mostly). So I called up a friend and she openly welcomed me to use her studio.

and although “studio” work is not my aesthetic.. im uncomfortable using studios.. I almost feel exposed and unsure of things in those settings.. in a studio I dont have the sun to work with.. and I almost feel lost without that. She set things up for me tho and all I had to do was push a shutter. It was awesome. So thank you Peggy! The pictures are exactly what the year book staff needed.

CalebHomeSchoolPic2TaiteHomeSchoolPic1

and for fun.. an out-take πŸ˜‰

outtake

forfun

About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in caleb, home school, Taite. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to School Portraits

  1. Renee says:

    those picture are great Drea, you did a awesome job on them! and Lol for the sip up one!!!!

  2. Sarah says:

    Aww. So cute! I think you did a great job.

    Carsyn is wearing the same onesie as Owen today. πŸ™‚

  3. Rachel says:

    Owen’s expression in the first picture is priceless!!!

  4. Brynna says:

    Your children are precious. I adore how much your pictures reflect your love for your children. πŸ™‚

    Are those tattoos on your boys’ arms? LOL My 4yo daughter is fascinated with fake tattoos.

    • Dreawood says:

      @Brynna, Hehe yes they are tattoos.. and they have been on them for 2 months now! Im serious, those things have lasted longer than any temp tattoo ive ever given them!

  5. I just got the boys school pictures sent home last week… I took their portraits myself (not the school ones, something outdoors) this fall and *actually got them printed* but to get a school picture is sort of facinating for me. Like a suprise. Because I wasn’t there when it was taken, I had nothing to do with it. I did not edit it, I was not there to smooth the crazy hair down, or retake because the 3yo smile looked funny.

    They were not at all fabulous, but I love them. I think I’m going to have to post them soon… not this week though.

Leave a Reply

