Owens Dinner tonight

I thought id post a recipe im trying today with Owen.

I picked up a butternut squash today…- and I plan on making him this recipe:

Rice with Apple and Butternut Squash Purée (4)6 months+

Ingredients:

1 squash – acorn, butternut or other winter squash
(these are fairly large btw…
when I cut mine in half, it takes up an entire 9×13 inch bake pan)

1 or 2 cups cooked brown rice
1/2 cup applesauce

Cut acorn or butternut squash in half, scoop out seeds
Place halves face down in a pan and cover with an inch of water
Bake in a 400 degree oven for 40 minutes or until the “shell/skin” puckers and halves feel soft then scoop squash “meat” out of the shell
Place squash “meat” into your choice of appliance for pureeing
Add cooked rice and applesauce and blend
Add water as necessary to achieve a smooth, thin consistency

Recipe source
: Wholesome Homemade Baby Food Website (where I get all my recipes for Owen)

Image source: The Left Over Queen


Updated:
I decided to do some math on this one 🙂

The total cost of this meal was around $6.50

This recipe yielded 2 liters, yes 2! of squash/rice/apple sauce puree.

Don’t believe me, heres the proof –

squash

That is the Pampered Chef 2 liter glass mixing bowl hah!

squashprepI decided to take it an additional step and take a picture of what the squash looked like prepped for freezing. I put the squash into ice cube trays, freeze, bag, and its good to go for a month or two. If you count the cubes, it equals 14 per tray, so 56 cubes in all.

When I feed Owen dinner, I fix him a veggie and a fruit cube. So one squash cube per meal.

This batch that cost me $6.50 to make will last me for 50 plus meals!

Now go to walmart or wherever you grocery shop, and buy 50 plus jars of butter nut squash baby food, and see if the total is less than $6.50. Last I checked you could buy a two pack of Gerber squash for $1.00 each. So two meals for a dollar. That doesnt include the fruit either…

So I have concluded, although it requires much more work… that making your baby food does in fact save!

Also Owen is getting super fresh food, with no preservatives or any additives. Makes me feel good 🙂
Although I understand not all of us can do this.. it sure is worth the effort if you can.

Oh and in Owens squash, as you can see above from the recipe, he is also getting brown rice and apples!

Yum yum 🙂

note: the little bear container beside the ice cube trays, is Owens dinner I set aside before freezing the squash. 🙂 I use those containers for A LOT – and you can find them at the Dollar Tree for 2/$1 – they come in lots of colors too.

About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in babyfood, Owen. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Owens Dinner tonight

  1. Aura says:

    Wow the savings are unbelievable. I love butternut squash. The only thing I don’t like is peeling and cutting. It’s a toughy. I usually get Cliff to help me with that. I have been able to get peeled and cut, but then again, I don’t think it would be as fresh and would add to the cost. Bet he will love it.

  2. Jobina says:

    I checked out the food site, which is AWESOME btw, but couldn’t find that recipe. What heading is it under? Or could I get the link please? Thanks!

    • Dreawood says:

      @Jobina, Hey Jobina, the recipe is actually in this post 🙂 scroll up 😉

      • Jobina says:

        I know, I guess I was hoping to find more like it on the site. I mean more interesting combos of fruits, veggies and grains together. I found veggie combos and fruit combos but nothing like what you posted here. Just wondering where on the site I’m not looking.

  3. he he, I’ve got a butternut squash sitting on my counter waiting for me to squash it up for my bebe tomorrow. Actually I won’t be squashing my squash, because she’s an independent little bugger and wants to feed herself (where she gets that idea from I don’t know because she’s only 7 months, she oughtta be letting me shovel food in her for a bit. but I digress.) Anyway, I’ll be baking/cubing/freezing my squash and some apples tomorrow. Do precooked apple chunklets freeze/thaw ok? I know squash chunks should be fine. We shall see about the apples.

  4. Catherine says:

    After your post about making Owen’s food and subsequent linking to styleberryblog.com- I decided to give homemade food another try. I had tried with my oldest son buy we actually freeze a lot of our grown up food so freezer space was limited and using regular ice cube trays…I never got them separated right-I could never get the darn cubes out. So I went up to our outlet mall and picked up a set of 2 of the trays she mentions on the styleberryblog for $10.49 and gave it a whirl. The cubes are great for storage! AND, I just steam an extra 2 cups of whatever veggie we are having that day, toss in some extra meat from dinner into the blender with the veggies and magically, in less than 10 minutes prep and clean time, I’ve got dinner for Chase for a week. Fruit is even easier. So far, cooking once a week is going great for me- since we shop weekly for fruit and veggies, I can give him a variety without spending too much all at once. I can’t believe it took me this long to try again! Thanks for the kick in the pants!!

  5. ElisabethCS says:

    Great recipe! I made baby food for Greg like this…froze a few different kinds. But yes, lots of work…so I ended up buying jars later. I plan on doing this for Gibs again…at least for the first couple of months.

    I plan on going to the Dollar tree later today, gonna pick me up some of those fun containers. Thanks.

    Oh and btw, love the new header. Cuteness! You look great of course and love Owen shirtless;)

  6. Blythe says:

    Did you use homemade applesauce? I am going to try to make some food this week. I gave Jace fresh avacado and that was not a hit. He looked at me like I had lost my mind.

    • Dreawood says:

      @Blythe, I do make my own applesauce, but in this recipe I used some natural jar apple sauce I had for the boys, rather than thawing his ice cub apple sauce i made him.

      Avocado… yea.. try mixing that with someone 🙂 I dont blame Jace HAH!
      Some babies love it tho.. but Owen was not one of those either.

  7. Jobina says:

    I made some of this for Sawyer today and he LOVED it! Thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

