Taking away Babywearing…

IMG_4902You all know how much I adore wearing my babies…

It is something I discovered with my 2nd born… and have loved ever since.

I saw this post yesterday and adored all the great history of babywearing.

It has been around longer than most of us know.

It is in so many cultures all around the world!! and is a huge help and benefit for mother and baby.

Babywearing is something I am so passionate about.

Our babies are only small enough to wear for maybe the 1st two years of their lives…. It is such a special time… and I cherish it so much.

Some of you may of heard about A RECENT RECALL that may threaten MANY babywearing companies! Not just 1 or 2 slings that are “unsafe” – but MANY carriers that are “very safe” and loved by many.

WE NEED TO TAKE ACTION!!
Don’t let the CPSC take this away…

I find it interesting that these “Safety” people find a sling that is worn right, and safely, is some how more dangerous than shoving our babies into a dirty grocery cart… or tripping while holding them, juggling our 2 other kids and heavy diaper bag.

I am a mom of 3.

I honestly have no idea how I would survive a trip to the grocery store if it wasnt for my incredible baby carriers.

I cringe at the thought of putting Owen into a cart… and I know that he would prefer to be on me as well.

So take action, STOP THIS RECALL NONSENSE! They are bullying small businesses and have gone way to far this time.

You can also join in with spreading the word about this by writing on your own blogs about whats going on.
Visit Stephs site as well to learn more.

IMG_4896
*Photos taken tonight oddly enough – before I read about all of this going on….
This wrap is a Gypsy Mama Wrap and is in no way UNSAFE. *

About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in babywearing. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Taking away Babywearing…

  1. Renee says:

    Same boat as you being a mother to 3 young one!!!! I posted about babywearing too, but your post is way better then mine!!! I have no inspiration lately lol!!!

  2. Kate says:

    My comment has nothing to do with babywearing…Your hair looks AWESOME! It’s getting so long!

  3. ElisabethCS says:

    I LOVE wearing my babies! The first baby carrier I used was a gray “urban” sling from target. lol That was eight years ago and I still use it occasionally. It’s super fast and safe, not the most comfy, but pretty cool… as in, not hot- Like my moby and sleepywrap. Poor Gibson and I sweat like crazy when we use those two. I am looking forward to being out in the cool fall weather soon.

    Recently a mom at our playgroup loaned me a sling she made. I like it. I plan on making one for myself. It’s super easy, but not the most comfy.

    I need to have Bobby take some pix of me wearing Gibson. oh but I need my hair done…trying to hold off til Nov (my B-day). BTW, your hair does look great!

  4. Regina says:

    I LOVE wearing Laura and wish I had know more about it when Harley was younger! It’s great to have 2 free hands to keep close reigns on Harley (who has autism, is nonverbal and likes to run!) It’s a bonding experience that is hard to describe-there is just something about feeling that little head snuggled up to your chest that makes you know all is right with the world:)

  5. Joy says:

    I actually contacted our Congressmen Monday. I absolutely adore wearing Celia and can’t imagine what life would be like if I couldn’t.

  6. Tanya says:

    I never got to wear any of my babies. When my youngest was born, 10 years ago I researched a little and got a sling, which was bulky and uncomfortable. There was not the education about babywearing back then like there is now. Geeez that makes it sound like it was back in ancient times, but it was only 10 years ago! Anyway, I look at pictures of you and other bloggers wearing your babies and wish I could have had that with my babies. 😦 . I pray that this recent spark does not discourage people from baby-wearing. Thank you for posting about it.

  7. Brynna says:

    Wow…this is seriously getting insane. I see it as freedom being taken away little by little.

    After the Infantino sling recall, when I’d be out wearing any of my kiddos in my wrap or my Beco (wasn’t even using a pouch during those times, so nowhere near even a SIMILAR carrier!), people would stop me and say, “Did you know that’s dangerous?” or let me know “those things” had been recalled. So disappointing that the majority of people only hear what mainstream media has to say (and it’s usually misinformation!).

  8. liz says:

    I LOVE babywearing! I still wear my going on 3 year old on my back in my Gypsy Mama wrap….LOVE it, and my Moby. Now if I could just have another baby to carry. I hate that so many people have opted out of buying certain carriers due to the “recalls.” If you wear your baby correctly and attentively, those baby carriers are perfectly safe! Wearing your baby does not mean sticking him/her in a sling and not paying attention to him/her! I don’t know any mom that would do that!

  9. That is a gorgeous wrap! I still have my Gypsy Mama Aphrodite Bali Breeze… so pretty!

    Steph

Leave a Reply

