Low-light-sighted?

On our way back from my parents on sunday… we had to drive in non-stop rain. Travis drove most of the trip… but at one point he was tired so I took over.

It wasn’t so bad at 1st… but once it got dark and the rain picked up… I honestly couldn’t see within 5 feet of me!
I put on my hazards and was driving 45 MPH in a 70 MPH zone, lol! I felt like I was 90.
I just could not see!

IMG_2550IMG_2552 copy

What was weird was Travis could see fine, and everyone FLYING BY ME could as well.

So it made me think..
Is there such a thing as having LOW LIGHT vision issues?

I have never had any vision problems. I can see find up close and far away… in day light.

Any of you ever deal with this?

I still remember as if it was yesterday, one day heading home from Campus Crusade with a friend… it was rainy and dark… and as the light turned green and I turned to cross a 4 lane high way (with the singling of the light of course), I ran straight over top of a medium!! and had no idea it was there until over top of it.. I just couldn’t see well, even then.

None the less… I think its just one of those things I have to work around 🙂 and if all possible I avoid driving at night with rain…

Although, it can look beautiful in some ways 😉

IMG_2555

*Photos weren’t taken while I was driving – although I am sure you all knew I wasnt that foolish 😉
I took these while Travis drove one night this past weekend*

About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in travel. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Low-light-sighted?

  1. Jobina says:

    one of my uncles has not been allowed to drive at night for years because he just can’t see at night very well. Over the years I find it harder and harder to drive at night. The headlights are so bright against the darkness and my eyes just cannot adjust to everything. I’m all for driving in daylight. Oh, and when it’s not raining. Or windy for that matter!

  2. noe says:

    I’m usually the one driving at night when we go on trips. lately, however, i’ve had a hard time driving because i think the lights are too bright. i think my eyes have a problem with the dark 😦
    driving at night with rain?
    horrible!!!!
    😦
    it took us almost 2 hours to go from our place to Boston (usually a 45 minute drive) on tuesday night. Heavy rain, humidity and darkness… not a good combination.

    • Brynna says:

      @noe,

      This is my problem too! I have to ask my DH is every car we pass has their brights on, and other lights really bug me. Not to mention I already have issues with “seeing things” at night (because I’m a very visual person and so worried about hitting animals- we live in the country- that I make myself “see” them jumping out of the corn fields and stuff…yeah, geez…)

  3. taylor says:

    you might have night blindness or something like that…i know my mom has to wear glasses when she drives at night. i think it’s just hard on the highway with all the lights and stuff too. =]

  4. Andrea says:

    Yeah, I’ve heard of this problem too – and apparently it can be fixed by taking/eating more Vitamin A! Sooo, like lots of carrots, egg yolks, liver…and there’s other things too but I can’t remember them. I just take a dose of Cod Liver Oil every day to help with my eyes (just started this about 2 weeks ago though)…but you can also buy Vitamin A vitamins if you want – just make sure they are water soluble so that if your body doesn’t need it, it goes right through – otherwise if your body just keeps too much vit. A inside it can get toxic.

  5. Lis says:

    My mom does not see well at night, and so will rarely drive.

  6. Tracy G says:

    I also have trouble seeing at night when I am driving. I asked my eye doctor about this when I went in for a check up and he told me that because I naturally have very large pupils that I let in so much light at night and my eyes don’t adjust. He advised me to focus on the outside white line when I am facing oncoming traffic so that way my eyes don’t focus on the lights. It definitely helps but doesn’t fix the problem. Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

