12 Medical Myths?

owendroidSometimes while I feed Owen I read blogs… I admit it.. I do. But let me defend myself a bit and say that Owen eats extremely slow! He sometimes takes 45 minutes – 1 hr to finish a bottle… other times 15, it just varies. But typically he eats super slow and sometimes I want to read… and since its hard to hold a baby, hold a bottle… and hold any sort of book or magazine… I use my droid instead.

I have the google reader AP on my droid and can read blogs with the click of a button and one hand. Its fantastic! I read all my blogs on my droid these days.

So as I was feeding Owen this afternoon I read my friend Carringtons blog post called “12 medical myths even most doctors believe…

I [loved] the post she put up and had to link to it for all my readers to check out as well.

It talks about all sorts of things such as vaccines, sun screen, soy, organic milk, and so on. I found that it helped sum up so much of what I have come to live by…

So check it out HERE

& if you want to discuss anything you can comment here, or comment on Carringtons post.. ill be chiming in occasional over there if I feel the need 🙂

I will post the one on vaccines here however, since I get lots of moms asking me why I choose not to vaccinate my children as babies.

Which means “I DO EVENTUALLY VACCINATE” – I just choose to wait on doing it. I do not feel comfortable at all giving my baby vaccines so young. I was looking at the NC 2010 vaccination schedule…and for Owen at his current age 6 months… he would of had 18 different shots! That is just insane to me and way to many.

So to those who may assume im “anti-vaccine” I really am not… I just think we as mothers have to make the decision that we feel is safest and best for our child… and for me, that means waiting and choose to do things much slower.. and opt out of those I do not feel neccesary.

Below is the snippet from Carringtons post that touches on Vaccines:

Vaccines are Safe and Effective and Prevent Disease

I completely understand that for many this issue is not debatable as they believe that vaccines are one of the greatest gifts to public health in the history of civilization.

If you believe that, then let me encourage you to open your mind and explore other views held by many well respected physicians, scientists, clinicians and pro-vaccine safety educators.

You might want to review the article Read This Before Vaccinating for Anything, to help you start your exploration process.

When it comes to vaccines, there are three primary questions that need to be considered.

  • First, is the vaccine in question safe?
  • Secondly, does it effectively prevent disease?
  • And third, which vaccines can safely and effectively be given together or in close succession?

Unfortunately, these issues have not been sufficiently studied for most vaccines, and those vaccines that have been studied frequently show that they are either unsafe or ineffective, or both!

Pro-vaccine-safety educators have long been saying that vaccines can over-stimulate your child’s immune system, sometimes causing the very disease it’s designed to protect against, or worse. And, when several vaccines are administered together, or in close succession, their interaction may completely overwhelm your child’s developing immune system.

This is one of the primary problems with vaccines in general – their detrimental impact on your body’s primary, natural defense against ALL disease. Vaccines by pass a fundamental part of the immune system by passing that natural defenses (our body) and going straight into our blood stream.  This is not a normal way for any disease to enter the body, and our body doesn’t know how to fight it effectively because of this.

Now consider that if your child is vaccinated according to the CDC’s recommended schedule, by the time your child starts kindergarten he or she will have received 48 doses of 14 vaccines. Of these, 36 doses will be given during the first 18 months of life – a time when your child’s body and brain is undergoing massive development!

Public health officials have NEVER proven that it is indeed safe to inject this volume of vaccines into infants. What’s more, they cannot explain why, concurrent with an increasing number of vaccinations, there has been an explosion of neurological and immune system disorders in American children.

This issue covers so much ground, it’s impossible to even try to summarize the many hazards and the lack of efficiency data for all the vaccines currently being given, in this article.

For more information please visit our vaccine section at http://vaccines.mercola.com/

-again you can read more about this and other medical myths on Carringtons blog HERE

this post is also good and covers the statements “vaccines got rid of these diseases… they have to be good.”

About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in parenting, vaccines. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 12 Medical Myths?

  1. Jenn says:

    I agree with this post, and believe it could have also contributed to the issues I have going on, as well as the autism spectrum symptoms that J&J deal with. If I had known this when they were babies, I’d have waited on their shots for sure. There is so much we are exposed to, that we have no idea how it effects our systems. Thanks for sharing.

    • Regina says:

      My oldest daughter Harle (whose 7) has autism and I feel 110% that all of the vaccinations she recieved were a major contrbuting factor…that’s why w/Laura (who is 6 months) I’m extremely careful…so far she has had 4 vaccines not the 18-20 ‘recommended’ vaccines at this age level…I’m VERY fortunate to have a pediatrican that doesnt make me feel pressured to get every vaccine available!

  2. ElisabethCS says:

    I’m with you, Drea. With our older two we did vaccinations very slowly and very spread out. With our third now I’m so apprehensive…I don’t know why,I guess it’s because my sis just had her first baby and is not planning on vaccinating AT ALL. I will be vaccinating, but it’s just something I have to trust the Lord through again. Thanks for always posting the important stuff.

  3. I never do more than two vaccines in a visit and then every other month. the boys didn’t start until this summer but I feel that claire needs them sooner since she will likely be exposed to much much more than the boys were at her age. We don’t do flu vaccines.

    I also don’t put sunscreen on myself or my children unless we are going to be outside in extreme sun for hours. I don’t see the point.

  4. Andie says:

    Well one thing I did notice was the toothpaste & fluoride. I work at dental clinic and we do mention that fluoride is only beneficial topically, but at the end it says to STOP using fluoridated toothpaste… uh doesn’t make sense since when you brush your teeth you apply fluoride topically and all you do is spit it out to avoid ingestion! Kids are different though, they should not use fluoride paste until they can spit properly.

    I’m not sure what to think about vaccines since I have no kids, it’d be a really tough call for sure!

  5. Jenn says:

    I read all the time when I fed my babies (either nursing or bottle)! It’s not like they stay engaged with you the whole 30 minutes they eat!! I read a lot of books when I had babies 🙂

  6. maggie says:

    I agree with waiting on vaccinations and only getting the ones you think are really necessary. We do one per visit even though that decision got us kicked out of one doctors’ practice and the new doc isn’t that nice about it. In the end it come down to the fact that *I’m* the customer and I’ll take my business somewhere else if you can’t give me what I want. I’ve read a lot about vaccines and some of them are so ineffective they only work in 1 out of 7 people – what?! And why are we vaccinating our kids against sexually transmitted diseases? By the time it might do some good it will have worn off!! (since most vaccines only last to the teen years)
    It’s really too bad that most people aren’t informed; even worse that most don’t *WANT* to be informed. They just blindly trust whatever the doctor tells them.

  7. Carrington says:

    OH Drea, thank you for doing a whole post on this!! You rock, friend!!

  8. Alison P says:

    Totally agree! We drink raw milk from an Amish farm, eat lots of good saturated fats like butter and cream, take lots of good Omega 3 fish oils, don’t use fluoride, play outside in the sun, and delay vaccines. Dr. Sears’ vaccine book is great, because he recommends delaying them and has a schedule. While there are some vaccines that have done a lot of good and have been tested over decades, there are a lot of random ones they keep throwing in until tiny babies are getting way too many at one time. And why is it standard for babies to get the Hep. B vaccine right after birth – that is a sexually transmitted disease! Good post!

  9. Alison P says:

    Oh, and we avoid soy at all costs! Soy is very scary for women of childbearing age and children.

  10. Renee says:

    If you look at the way you have been vaccinated (or mine that would be almost 10 years earlier) things have change so much and babies now are getting more shots more often that we did in the past!

    one that bugs me is the chickenpox vaccine, I never had the vax gotr the pox and was fine, now why would we need a vaxx for a normal childhood illness? but that is jsut my beef, some vaxx are very good

    I agree with you, waiting is not a bad thing!

    • Drea says:

      @Renee, I agree renee, I had c.pox too, so did my brother, i think we were 5?
      now tho no one around here has it! Id prefer my kids get it now but because no one has it we actually might end up getting that vax… because I dont want them to get it when they are teens, because I hear its way worse.

      It doesnt make sense tho.

Leave a Reply

