Nags Head 2010 – about time!

IMG_1605You would think living close to the coast (about an hour 1/2 – 2 hrs away) that we’d go to the beach a lot…

This summer though we have only gone once as a family.

I met up with Kate and her family back in June?? but other than that, no beach trips at all, unless you count a Kitty Hawk wedding I shot with Ginny Corbett recently. But that wedding wasnt on the beach … so I don’t think that counts 🙂

Today though we finally got some free time to go.

We figured this would be one of the last “warm” weekends… we wanted to take advantage of that.

The boys were so excited… our morning began early..  we managed to get packed up and out of the house by 8am?? Stopped for breakfast (but ate on the way), made a Dollar Tree pit stop (where I grabbed a SUGAR SCOOP lol to use as a shovel & some $1 sun glasses for myself)… by 10am we were at Nags Head.

The pictures speak for themselves.
PERFECTION!

Seriously who can look at an ocean and not see the marvelous creation of God.

It always reminds me of the song by Nicole C. Mullen (love her) “My Redeemer” where she sings “…and Who told the ocean you can only come this far?”

We had a blast.. the kids were great. Owen did well … although he refused to nap laying down in his sun tent… instead I had to wear him in order for him to get a nap… which was fine. I brought my didymos wrap, and although difficult to put on in windy conditions, its super comfortable.

We also met another pastor & family while there! Was really strange, what started as just a convo about how they had 3 boys… ended up in us having a TON in common… from where they use to live (ohio), to where they are now and what they did and do. We also have some name similarity as well, which I thought was really cool. I gave them my card and maybe we can reconnect in the future, because our boys had a blast with theirs.

Now we are home… the house is semi-in order, the grass is cut… the kids are fed and in bed… tomorrow starts a busy day with worship, a church picnic & I have a 1 yr old portrait session with a sweet client who travels hours to get to me! – I never work sundays, but she was worth the “rule break” 😉 – I look forward to seeing her.

Hope you all had a great weekend as well 🙂 now heres a few more pictures, oh & a video clip 😉


*The video edges are black because my cameras shutter got stuck… oops*

IMG_1579

IMG_1559

IMG_1560

IMG_1589

IMG_1585

IMG_1591

IMG_1610IMG_1600

IMG_1575

IMG_1569

IMG_1599& just to show that the home schooling can still continue even while out at the beach 🙂
We saw these weird black things on the beach… they looked like black claw crab cases or something.. we weren’t sure… but Caleb showed a man sitting on his beach chair some he had on a shovel… and the man told him they were baby sting rays. We weren’t sure what to think… but one thing we knew was they stunk … and had black gunk in them. The kids thought they were pretty cool though… and had a time smashing them… boys :-\

When we got home though we googled what we thought it was and sure enough… they are called Devils purses, or mirmaid purses… also know as Ray Egg Cases… they are the empty sting ray egg case or sometimes shark cases… interesting huh? I have never seen anything like it! Tomorrow or monday we will get to show Caleb some photos online of all the egg cases to show and explain to him what it was exactly.

I just think its neat how kids can learn from just being out … being kids.

**To all the camera peeps who may have questions regarding what I used to take these pictures. I used my Canon 30D *Its my personal camera – I save my 5D for mostly business use* – I had the Tamron 17-50mm 2.8 Lens (its an incredible lens but will not work on a full frame body, so keep that in mind) – I set my ISO to 100, Aperture to 2.8 and set it to AV… since I was wearing Owen I couldnt manually expose things easily, so when in doubt, AV works great.**

About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in caleb, home school, Owen, Taite, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Nags Head 2010 – about time!

  1. Jenn says:

    Just goes to show you that boys are boys…it’s in their genes!! My daughter would never even *think* of smashing the shells, let alone touching them. My son, however…he’d be all over it!

  2. Bridget says:

    I love the picture of Travis and Owen!

  3. Tanya says:

    As usual all of your pictures are beautiful but the second to last one (Taite running and Caleb is behind him) I LOVE!

  4. Kate says:

    Awww…GREAT pics! Love Owen’s little amber necklace too. 🙂 Love you guys!!

  5. Alison P says:

    Beautiful pictures! I also love the second to last one of Taite running. It just shows so much joy! Don’t kids just adore the beach?! 🙂

  6. Sarah says:

    How fun!! You were right by us. Maybe we can meet one day. 😀

  7. Megan C. says:

    Love the OBX! Looks like you guys had a wonderful weekend! You got some amazing shots!

  8. beautiful photos! What an amazing beach, love it!

Leave a Reply

