Writing Fast

IMG_0510So Ive decided to take a bit of a writing fast…

no… I wont be writing, quickly πŸ™‚

But rather not writing much at all.

I may update my blog with some photos throughout the week but thats about it.

Im kinda tired of putting myself out there…

Im not seeing how its doing much good (except for post like THIS ONE – I got such encouragement from you all!)… and honestly it does me very little good to share to much, because I tend to get really down when I am so frowned upon for just sharing my heart.

Our schedules been really hectic any how with all the new home schooling schedule adjustments… and also this month im booked solid every week with sessions.. so im going to try and enjoy life without putting every thing on here.

I’ll still be around though πŸ™‚ just less talking.

and also… look out 1st of the week… I will have 1 post going up next week to host another giveaway for Sleepywrap πŸ™‚

About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in random. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Writing Fast

  1. Heather says:

    Don’t lose heart, Drea. You never know what kind of seed is being planted in a reader’s heart and when it will bloom. Listen to God and follow His lead. Keep using your gifts for His glory! He’ll do the rest.
    Love in Christ!

  2. Sarah says:

    Drea I am so sorry. I love reading your posts and seeing your pictures. Because of you and Kelly I am seriously considering homeschooling. Thanks for sharing your heart and I never judge you. It is not my job and I think you are an amazing mom and wife and person. Thanks for sharing yourself with me. Hope you have a good weekend.

  3. Blythe says:

    I’m going to be so bored if you quit blogging daily! I look forward to reading your blog and you inspire and encourage me to be a good mom!

  4. ElisabethCS says:

    I can relate, Drea. I rarely if ever get comments on my blog. And that’s even from all my family and I have a huge extended family. I know they read too…I often feel discouraged and like no one cares or they think I’m silly for posting all the stuff I post…like even my etsy shop. But I enjoy reading other peoples thoughts and seeing their etsy creations…So that’s why I keep creating and posting blogs when I can. Maybe someone out there enjoys my postings…even if I don’t get feedback.

    I for one love reading all your blog posts. Will miss ya, but totally understand.

  5. Nancy says:

    Owen is a perfect mix of Caleb and Taite! He is too cute πŸ™‚

  6. Molly says:

    Hopefully you will use this time to contmplate things. I have wanted to write but have held back, here I go. Being a religious example, whether you write about it or not- the truth makes is way out- is a responsibility, and a love one should have for God and all things right. Your entire blog, albeit who you are talks about “material things”. Clothes, your never ending baby bag obsession, and jewlery. I am shocked. I don’t think that you are good for the church truly. It is not who you are. From the beginning of your blog, which is years ago, your references are only to living comfortably. Do you even read the bible? You speak of having the money to pay for health insurance, but “why bother if I can get if for free”. You should be ashamed of yourself. Your husband as well, as he apparently doesn’t have the sense to know what it right from wrong. Hard work is what life is about, not about milking other people, trying to live in a big beautiful house that you don’t have to pay for or have your children given things. Whether or not you stop writing your thoughts is your choice, however, your life is visible to others, and apparently your grand freebie of kitchen re-do attests to this. You should be grateful for the things you have and be thanking the LORD for them every day instead of feeling like an entitled brat. Shame on your husband as well.

  7. Dreawood says:

    Molly, you have no idea who I am and you just showed WHO YOU ARE!

  8. Melissa says:

    Wow, Molly. I can’t believe you’d say these things on a comment on this blog. Do you know Drea, personally? Do you regularly read her blog? I think the lack of human contact can often make us feel that we can say things we would not say the same in person… or at least in person, you can say them with a lot more grace and nobody can misinterpret your words for simply being a witch. Which, to be honest, is how I am interpreting them–I have only been reading a little while, and I do not see her as a materialistic woman who’s no good for the church at ALL. Actually, I see someone who’s honest in how she lives. Not putting on a good face and hiding all her wants deep inside, thinking that if nobody knows what she REALLY thinks or REALLY feels that it’s ok. She’s learning to live her life as a believer, a mom, a blogger, etc. and I think you should be more gracious. I mean, Jesus even loves you. And you definitely don’t deserve it. Why not extend that grace and have a little heart to heart with Drea with love, if indeed you really do have a biblical issue, and not “shame on you’s”.

  9. Dreawood says:

    Oh and one more thing “our lavish home” isnt free. ITS PART OF MY HUSBANDS PACKAGE. Trust me, we would love to PAY for our own home, but we dont make enough to financially be able to!

  10. Bren says:

    Well said, Drea, well said. Anyone who has REALLY read your blog over the years knows that you are a kind and godly person…giving, thoughtful and a terrific mother.

    I’ll miss your daily thoughts =)
    Bren

  11. Melissa says:

    Drea, I am sorry that you are feeling so down. Maybe this hiatus will help you reposition your heart safely in the Savior’s hands. I know as women we have a heightened tendency to care about what others say of us. Personally, I am trying to refocus on caring less…but it’s not something we can do on our own. We totally need the time away from it all.
    I think that people are crazy. And they need our grace, too.

  12. jjb says:

    wow, molly you went too far. andrea lives, sleeps, and eats church. she lives in a fish bowl. she’s a pastor’s wife. she is allowed to have a life outside of that. she is committing no sin talking about babywearing or her kitchen, or homeschooling or the clothes that she got a huge deal on. Is she suppose to be mother theresa? is she suppose to live in poverty? No! being blessed to be a blessing to others is way more impacting to people than being just another poor person. She does thank the Lord. She does read her bible, but on top of all of that she shares whats underneath the surface. Most Christians are too ashamed of whats underneath so they disguise it with pharisee thinking and fingers pointed at other people. I don’t know what’s underneath your surface molly but i already don’t like what you represent above the surface. If i wasn’t already saved i would probably want nothing to do with a God that is anything like that. Andrea i can’t blame you if comments like these happen more than once. the rest of us will miss you.

  13. Bren says:

    P.S. Never feel the need to justify anything to people like Molly. The haters will always be there and they will never define you. Like you said, she showed her true self and it isn’t pretty. Only God can judge, so why is she? Sad, really.

  14. Dreawood says:

    I agree Bren… thank you everyone!

  15. Melissa says:

    I agree with Bren, there. Don’t bother wasting your time on justifying yourself to people like that. It’s a waste of your time and emotion.

  16. Kellie says:

    Please know that a lot of people who agree with you probably aren’t as inclined to comment as people who disagree.

    I just wanted to let you know that I read your blog (have no idea how I found it), but I don’t know that I’ve ever commented. And, you are a regular source of encouragement and inspiration for me.

    I’m a Christian woman, homemaker, mother of two girls (2, and four months), and a new photography business. We have a lot in common, huh? Owen and my youngest are so close in age… it’s been fun to read about how you are doing with him. Your post the other day about homeschooling was wonderful. I saved it to discuss with my husband and read again in the future.

    I understand that some things are private, and sometimes we just go through phases of being more private. I, for one, look forward to the future posts you DO decide to write!

    Thanks!

  17. : ) says:

    I really do love reading your daily post. They intrest me very much. I would hate for you to stop posting.

  18. Kellie says:

    Holy Cow!! I just read the other comments and I can’t believe Molly wrote that. I thought she was joking at first, but then the joke never finished.

    Andrea, if it were me, I know comments like that would bother me a lot too. But, her comments is so ridiculous that hopefully you can see past it. Seriously… you are so grateful! And since when are Christian women not allow to discuss purses or baby bags or any material things. Sheesh! You are a beautiful example of a Christian woman who honors her husband and trains her children. Oh, and your, “big beautiful house.” Ha ha ha. You do have a lovely home (especially with the new kitchen!), but I think we all know that it’s a modest parsonage, and you have a wonderful, wonderful attitude about its limitations.

    I’m so sorry you get comments like these!!

  19. Dreawood says:

    πŸ™‚ the joke that never finished

    – and yes, it is a modest parsonage πŸ™‚
    – the kitchen is AMAZINGGGG tho, I feel so blessed to have it! I honestly believe the Lord hears our prayers and wants his children to be happy… and he knew how much it mean to me to have a kitchen with the ability to entertain and have people over… not to mention serve me own family better. It was an answer to prayer and I am forever grateful to our church who agree’d it needed to be done.

  20. Stacey says:

    Can I just give you a virtual hug? Cause Molly made me mad, and I’d rather hug someone than throw something…

  21. Kate says:

    I just pulled this up to comment on how much I love little Owen’s double chin in this picture, then saw some comments – one inparticular…HOLY COW! WHAT??! SERIOUSLY??! It’s ridiculous from start to finish with not a single bit of truth to it.

    I love you and your family – you are an incredible blessing to EVERYONE you come in contact with – whether it be in person, or thru blogging. You are wonderful and I am proud and honored to call you my friend!!

  22. maggie says:

    Well, I’ll miss reading your posts. Some of them are very encouraging – you say what most of us are feeling but are too afraid to say ourselves. You are very brave to put your thoughts out there for everyone to read and it’s really too bad that you’re stopping because people can’t keep their unkind comments to themselves.

  23. Andrea says:

    I don’t comment much anymore due to busy-ness…but just wanted you to know that I reallllly do appreciate you and your blog. πŸ™‚ I love having another “Andrea” who’s a pastor’s wife and has 3 young kids and is homeschooling…all things that we have in common. I’ll miss your daily thoughts too – but at the same time, I know it must be hard to hear all those rotten comments. By the way – did you remove that post you wrote today on homeschooling? I couldn’t find it…I’m guessing that’s the one where you got some nasty comments…

    Anyways, let me just say that I LOVED LOVED LOVED that post! It was so encouraging to me…because even though I want to homeschool SO BAD I also feel SO inadequate!! Reading your post was awesome…and inspiring…and I absolutely LOVED the Scriptures you used to back up the reason why you are homeschooling. It was just what I needed to hear – because already people are starting to look at me weird when I say that “no, Tate is not in pre-school and we are going to homeschool.” I know that homeschooling is a great thing to do…I just needed some firm, concrete reasons from the Bible as to why it was…and I that’s what I got from your post earlier. πŸ™‚ Anyways, just wanted to tell you that.

    **hugs**

  24. Carrington says:

    Wow, I came to comment to tell say, “who are these fools discouraging you?”, and then BAM there they are!

    Okay- first of all, if this is the Lord calling you to take some time away- then YAY, I’m excited to see the renewal- but if you are doing this because of people like Molly, you should just delete the nasty and carry on.

    You bring so much encouragement, information, love to others, and whether people comment, or whether you are only getting negative feedback- people care, and love you.

    To address a few things Molly said-
    I have no idea why it’s “bad for the church” to have a blog that talks about diaper bags and jewelry. Like, being a good Christian means only speaking of holy things, and if you even utter a word about a baby product then that makes you a sinner? The whole argument is just ridiculous.

    Secondly, who is she to judge you? She doesn’t know you, or your heart. Is she without sin? I’m sure she has many things that you could say “shame on you” to her. She is in no position of influence with you, so her comment is meant to be critical and mean. If she was actually being loving, then she would never say anything unless she was your friend, had a concern, and came to you in private (not in public). Pray for her heart, because it is obviously angry, and broken, that she needs to lash out at innocent, great people.

    Thirdly, remember that Satan knows. I truly believe that great things don’t come without great resistance. I believe that the second you start influencing more and more hearts (like you have been), that Satan will use something to sabotage your success in God’s kingdom. And Satan knows the perfect thing to do it too, he knows your weaknesses, and he knows your desires (to please, to be liked, to influence, to win hearts for the Lord), and so he can use angry people to discourage you.

    There is power in your testimony (your life), and power in your pictures, and power in your writing…. let it shine girl.

    Oh, and lastly- it just really rubbed me the wrong way how she kept saying shame on your husband. From what I know of Him, he is a great man (and husband, and father), and a great leader. And let’s just be ridiculous and go right along with her and say that you are “bad for the church”- it’s like she is implying that your husband somehow controls you… like he is the bad parent with a screaming, biting, hitting child.

    Please! He is your leader, and you are his servant by choice, and through love- he doesn’t “make” you do anything.

    Okay, I’m done. πŸ™‚

  25. Laura says:

    oh gosh, just wanted to write here, that I agree with everyone that you’ve done a great job of sharing your heart, your life and your ministry. i hope you got my email concerning the earlier post, and again, i wanted to reiterate that i am totally sorry if my opinions were a discouragement at all to you. (for the record, i am a regular reader, general supporter and really enjoy this blog) i know i don’t know you personally, but just wanted to add another note of support and thanks for sharing.

  26. Joy says:

    I sat here with my jaw dropped reading the CRAP above. I don’t personally know you all that well as I have only met you twice in person, but I feel like I know you. I can’t believe the audacity of some people. If they feel like they are sooooooooo much better than you, then they shouldn’t waste their time reading or writing such horrible things on your blog. I love reading your posts. I completely understand if you want to focus on your family. That is the most important thing, but please don’t let the haters stop you. And I can’t wait to see you again next month.

  27. :eather says:

    WOW! I am shocked! I can’t believe anyone would say those things about Andrea! I have met Andrea and although I don’t know her on a personal level I can tell you that none of those horrible things are true! I can’t imagine how hard it must be to put your heart out for everyone to see on a daily basis and then to have people say those things. All I see when I read this blog is a GREAT mom and beautiful CHRISTAIN woman (with really cute kids). Andrea’s blog has inspired me to be a better christian and I find her posts encouraging and uplifting! I look forward to new posts but I understand how hard it must be to continue to open your heart for everyone to see when you have people saying such hurtful things and judging you for doing so. I pray that you are able to find comfort. The Lord knows your heart Andrea!

  28. Jessica says:

    Andrea,

    I love reading everything you write! I can’t believe that Molly would say things like that! Maybe Molly needs to refer back to the Bible herself: Exodus 20:17 “Thou shalt not covet thy neighbour’s house, thou shalt not covet thy neighbour’s wife, nor his manservant, nor his maidservant, nor his ox, nor his ass, nor any thing that [is] thy neighbour’s.” Keep writing, Andrea!! I love hearing about your boys. Your kitchen is gorgeous and when you talk about the new things that you have gotten, whether they be new or second-hand, it comes across to me that you are giving tips to everyone else. As a matter fact, if it weren’t for your blogs, I wouldn’t have known about Kidsteals.com or Babysteals.com!!! Don’t get discouraged! And shame on you, Molly!

  29. Teri says:

    I am not going to say that I agree with everything you say or do but that is pretty pathetic that someone has NOTHING better in their life to spend their valuable time on than to continually read a blog by someone they think so poorly of.

  30. Teri Speller says:

    Wow… I too am in shock. Like everyone else has said.. who is she to judge anyone. Only the Lord knows everyones heart and only the judgement of the Lord should matter. You know how I feel about you blogs… they are like a cup off coffee for me… a daily necessity. I will be praying for Molly and also you Andrea that the Lord will help with the hurt her comments have caused.

  31. Rebecca says:

    Hi Andrea,
    You don’t know me from Adam (or Eve as the case may be), but I’m a friend of Aliesha’s from college and found your blog through hers. I’ve been reading along for a while, and I felt I should finally speak up. I wanted to encourage you to keep going and know that we run the race for Christ and not for others:) You show a BEAUTIFUL example of a pastor’s wife AND a Christ follower. I work with children and I see the life that you bring to yours in your blog. I praise God for the way He has touched your heart so you don’t let people bring you down!
    God bless,
    Rebecca

  32. Eva says:

    I’m not sure this will come out right since I find I’m not always very good with words. But I’ll try.

    I find that we expect too much of the leaders of our church. Of course we expect them to be a Godly example but to say that they shouldn’t have a decent house, a newly renovated kitchen or enjoy things like cloths or their camera bag is over doing it in my opinion. They, in this case Andrea and her husband, are just as much human as the rest of us. Secondly.. the rest of us Christians, why do we expect less of ourselves than we do of them? I’m not prominent in our church, I like having a nice house, and a lovely yard. I also like fashion and a nice camera bag. I am a Christian.. could I be a better Christian.. always, I won’t be perfected until the day of Jesus Christ. But.. does wanting or enjoy these things make me less of a Christian.. I don’t think so.

  33. Whitney says:

    Molly,
    Among the myriad of comments in reaction to yours, I just wanted to expound a little on a statement you made. You wrote “Being a religious example, whether you write about it or not- the truth makes is way out- is a responsibility, and a love one should have for God and all things right.” I would agree with that statement, but unfortunately, you blasphemed and perverted the power of the truth you shared by the manner with which you asserted it.

    There is no separation between having the love one “should have” for God and loving others, especially our brothers and sisters in Christ. This is no small part of “all things right” in the eyes of the Lord. Any person who claims to know Scripture, such as yourself, should own that truth to their core. Unfortunately, you chose to judge and try to elicit public shame from a person whom you don’t know personally, and only know through the small window that her blog has offered into her life.

    I’m begging you, by the mercies given to you by our sweet Lord, repent of the anger and bitterness in your heart, before it chokes the Spirit’s ability to work in you! Your thoughts seem to communicate that you feel you are entitled to voice such an opinion, and that you are in a place in your life where you do ‘have the love one should have for the Lord, and all things right’. This may come from an attitude of superiority, whether it be true in your life or not. Remember though, that the most important person to compare yourself to is God Almighty, so don’t be wise in your own eyes! Every truly righteous act done on your part has nothing to do with your goodness or ability as a human being, and everything to do with the grace that has been given you to do such things. ‘For it is God who works in you to will and to act according to His good purpose’ – Philippians 2:13. Grace and peace Molly.

  34. Drea says:

    Thank you for that verse Whitney, I needed it this morning.

  35. Bridget says:

    Just wanted to let you know that I love, love, love your blog and do not in any way feel like you come across in any of the ways Molly said that you did. I have been reading for four years now…I came across it when I was pregnant and every week I googled what week I was and it always found your blog because you were a bit ahead of me. I love how honest you are, because you are expressing how moms really feel, and who in the world wouldn’t be excited about a brand new kitchen?!? Keep your head up. Please know that for every Molly, there are 100 of us looking forward to your posts.

  36. scatterbrain says:

    Drea,
    I can see that you have a HUGE online community supporting you, and I wanted to say I’m in too! You have encouraged me so much with your posts on breastfeeding failure and just by your parenting choices.

    I would certainly miss reading your blog, but I wholeheartedly support your need for some time off. I’ve always wondered how you and other pastor’s wives do it. And I know the answer is GRACE from above!

    God bless you Drea, you are a wonderful woman, but most importantly you are god’s precious princess!!

  37. Megan C. says:

    I’ll be praying for you Drea. You are such an encouragement and you have given me so many ideas and inspiration! Please know God has used your blog in so many ways. Stay strong!

Leave a Reply

