Sometimes

IMG_0587 copyDo you ever have those times in your life where you feel broken down?

You feel like people are pointing at you… picking out your flaws….
your mistakes…
your differences…

Do you ever feel like others look at you if you are odd?

Or over protective mom?
or even an unwise mom?

Have you ever felt shunned?….
or belittled?

Do you ever wish people could look into your heart and see who you really are or desire to be?
rather than go on assumptions or misunderstandings?

I feel like this sometimes…

but then I am reminded….

“It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in man.”
– Psalm 118:8

“The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer; The God of my strength, in whom I will trust; my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold and my refuge; my Savior…” (2 Samuel 22:2-3a)

“He that trust in his own heart is a fool: but whoso walks wisely, he shall be delivered.” Proverbs 28:6

“Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts.
See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.”

Psalm 139:23-24

About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in scripture, struggles. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Sometimes

  1. Amy Woolard says:

    WOW!! I really needed this today! It was as if God gave you the words to just say to me!! 🙂 Thank you!

  2. Stacey says:

    Hang in there. You know what I think, and God’s view of you is even better 🙂

  3. Renee says:

    You are def. not alone Drea, in feeling that way!!! I’m sure we all have times where we struggle like that.
    I have definitely been shunned before…from a church we used to attend. There was no bad feelings as to why we left, we just felt God calling us to a different place. It has been 2 years now, and when I see those people I can still feel them looking at me with daggers in their eyes 😦 It’s a daily walk to get over those feelings of being inadaquit.
    Be encouraged that others have dealt with the same thing you feel some days!!! And the verses you mention are great!! Thank you for also encouraging me with the verses!!

  4. Teri Speller says:

    I needed this today too! Andrea you are such an inspiration to others Moms and believers. It is amazing how God uses others to show us the things He wants us to know.

  5. Jenn says:

    Those are great verses you shared.

    Yes…I have felt this way.

    God gave me all Psalm 139 during those times as well. It is a beautiful chapter. Actually, many of the Psalms brought me comfort.

    Also, 2 Cor. 10: 5 “We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.” This vs helped me to remember to keep my thoughts on Christ and what He thinks of me, not our circumstances or what was being said about us. I’d focus more on what God thought of me are, rather than focus on the negative thoughts of others.

    Hold fast to Jesus his truth, and dismiss those lies. Remember what God says of us is what matters most. 🙂

  6. Sarah says:

    Thank you, I needed this today too. 🙂 Btw..i’ve been following your blog for several months (call me a stalker if you will haha!), and have been greatly blessed and encouraged in SO many ways!

  7. Jobina says:

    When we were youth pastoring and camp directing I felt this sometimes. Those are wonderful verses though and such a good reminder that only God’s opinion really matters in the long run. He knows your heart and He loves you no matter what!

  8. I’m always soo thankful that the Lord knows our hearts and is the one who judges rightly… not others. Actually was reminded about this the other day listening to a sermon on Job, the pastor was speaking about the incorrect advice & wisdom of his “friends”.

    Praying that we always have Christian friends who are there to sharpen us!!! Pushing us to be better Christians, wives and mothers;)

  9. Teri says:

    yes!!! thank you for posting this today!!

  10. I feel that way all the time. Love the verses you posted.

  11. Elisabeth says:

    Me too! I feel that way all the time. Thanks for being so honest. I wish I was more like you, your honesty is so refreshing. I think you’re the coooooolest!

  12. Carrington says:

    Okay- I LOVE that shot of you, it’s one of my favorites I think. You look so gorgeous.

    Secondly, yes, I feel this ALL the time, and it’s so annoying, and hard to quiet the voices, and the daggers.

    It’s awesome that we have a God to turn to tell us the truth, and tell us who we are, huh?

    Hoping that you continue to be the awesome you, and not let others discourage you in doing that.

    I’m in your corner lady!

Leave a Reply

