Mistake Waiting?

IMG_0434Last year when Caleb had just turned 5, on Aug 31st 2009… I opted to keep him out of Kindergarten because he would of been the youngest (or one of) in his class.

My brother started K at age 6… so I thought this would be best, since he was a boy… and boys usually mature slower 😉 sorry boys lol, don’t hate tho, I have all boys, so I got to love the immature sides too!

Caleb loved pre-school when he was 5… and I think it was good for him… but while in pre-school I did still home school him some on what I thought was pretty basic stuff… numbers and letters, among other things.

So here we are at age 6… and he has officially started Kindergarten.

We are using the ABEKA program and so far we love it…

EXCEPT for one thing…

All of what has been covered so far is SOOO BASIC. Caleb is bored to death! He sits there yawning (seriously yawning) and twiddling his thumb… because everything they are covering is boring to him.

We debated calling ABEKA and seeing if we can bump him up to 1st grade… but as we looked through the rest of the year curriculum… we do realize he will start to learn some harder things later on this year.

Such as telling time, addition, reading, and so on.

I think he will learn them with flying colors!! and he will fly through 1st grade as well.

So maybe us waiting was a mistake?
Either way… I think Caleb is super bright.. and im not just saying that because hes my son… he really is smart! He is a quick learner.

IMG_0432His younger brother Taite has picked up everything Caleb has so far as well (pretty much), so we are trying to get him into a 4/5 yr old pre-school, instead of 3 yr olds… Taite doesnt turn 4 until December… but he is totally ready for something more.

We have also made the decision to go ahead and start Taite in Kindergarten NEXT FALL, so Taite will start at age 4 1/2 instead of 5.

So he will only be 1 grade behind Caleb.

I think this will be great… I mean Caleb might have some questions as to “well why is Taite in kindergarten already? and I didnt start til age 6…” I hope by then we can explain to Caleb that we were new at this whole “home school” deal 🙂 and that we are learning just as he is learning… and that it doesnt matter if he is older and only a grade ahead. We will try to explain that he will just be the smartest out of his peers 😉 and go through things really easily.

He is a pretty understanding kid 😉 so I think he will be ok in the end.

SO yup. SO far so good. I love the way ABEKA works.. and how planned out the lessons are… it has helped us out a lot… I am limited on time… and so to not have to sit down and figure out lessons is huge for me.

I am so glad we are able to home school our kids!!

Thank you to my wonderful husband who is helping us get things started… and help me out with the new routine.

Once Taite starts pre-school I think ill be ok on my own 🙂
Taite will go 5 days a week at the pre-school, from 9-noon. So that is going to give me every single morning free with Caleb (well and Owen..) to school one on one.

Then next year we will school both.

EXCITING!

About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in home school. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Mistake Waiting?

  1. Laura says:

    Just skip the easy stuff and move onto the harder stuff now! Then when you finish this year’s curriculum early you can just move right on into 1st grade. That is the beauty of homeschooling! We have had similar issues which is why we chose to start Madalyn in Kindergarten this year even though she isn’t 5 yet.

  2. Andrea, I think this is all awesome! I started kindergarten when I was 6 also, and did fine! I just wasn’t ready at age 5, and so my parents didn’t push me then. We, all of my siblings, were homeschooled from k-12. We loved it and did well. I think homeschooling is great, and hope to do it one day myself with my own kids!

  3. Stacey says:

    I was going to say too, move very quickly through the easy stuff, doing 2 days worth in one day. Then move on to grade one, and he’ll be caught up with his age level. That’s the beauty of homeschool!

  4. Aliesha says:

    I’ll keep praying for your family’s homeschooling venture! You’re going to have such sweet memories of the time you spend together each day. 🙂 There’s nothing like it!

  5. Teri says:

    This is our first year homeschooling as well but I wanted to give you my perspective as a first born. The first born is the “guinea pig”. As you said you don’t know what you are doing yet with the first child and the younger siblings get the benefit of experience and don’t have to go through all the trial and error (at least not as much!) However, being the first born does have it’s advantages that we get to experience a bigger variety of things and sometimes get more individual attention because it takes more effort when everything is new. The reality is there are going to be things every person will like and dislike about their childhood….you just do your best to make the decisions you feel are right at the time!

  6. Ali bloom says:

    I agree with everyone here.. The beauty of homeschooling is that you don’t have to follow the ‘traditional’ schedule of grades corresponding to ages.. My sister HS’s & her 10 yr old is doing Jr. High level math, reading & other subjects. Her 5 yr old is doing pretty much the same level of everything that her 8 yr old is doing. (that’s another thing you’ll probably find, that the younger siblings do tend to be ahead in terms of grade level because they pick up on everything the older ones are learning!) I think homeschooling is great & wish I could do it too! Good for you & good luck with everything.. As I’ve watched my sister, it does seem to get easier with time!

  7. maggie says:

    The good thing about homeschool is that you can introduce more advanced material when the child is ready instead of waiting on the rest of the class. Go ahead and skip the stuff he already knows, especially if he’s really that bored. You want to keep him interested in learning! I’ve started schooling my boys unofficially (no curriculum, just library books and whatever else we have in the house) and the 4 year old is so far ahead. At this point if he has an interest we learn about it.
    Remember, too, that you don’t have to JUST follow the curriculum – if Caleb decides he wants to learn about bees you can fit that into a science lesson.(we did bees for a week) Then you can add in a field trip – we went to a bee farm and tasted some local honey!
    Sorry this is so long, I just get so excited about homeschooling. I hope it gets easier for you and Caleb!

  8. Valerie says:

    Andrea–

    Laura, Stacey and Maggie are right on!! Just move as quickly through the material as you desire (according to Caleb’s abilities)! I do think that boys take longer to mature (especially once you get to a lot of writing and sitting still activities—not all boys, but most, do better in having that extra year.) It’s always better to be putting them in more advanced material than their declared grade, than having them feel they don’t measure up in the current one. (And, don’t get me started on the whole foolishness of “grade levels!”)

    I especially love Maggie’s ideas of the “unit studies.” When I began Kindergarten with Phillip (now 14 years ago!), we took about one month to six weeks to study a unit—things like the human body, dinosaurs, insects, transportation, the solar system, etc. He LOVED it!! We did lots of hands-on projects…not much writing at all other than learning to write letters a little each day. We read TONS of library books—mostly nonfiction. I had read the year before homeschooling him that children who do lots of hands-on learning (rather than “sit-down work”) are right up with (or usually above) their peers in who had a more “academic” beginning as far as test scores.

    That must be true since Phillip has always scored VERY well on standardized tests and is now making A’s in his college courses (math/computer/engineering focus).

    I wouldn’t trade all the rich memories of homeschooling for any amount of treasure this world has to offer. The shared memories of learning together have made our family relationships so close—even with teenagers!!

    Blessings as you start this wonderful adventure!
    Valerie

  9. Renata says:

    Ditto ditto to all the comments. I also held back my first and don’t regret it. My second was an early kindergartener for similar reasons. I don’t regret that either.

Leave a Reply

