My 1st Shirt Job

beforeSooooo…

I decided to be crafty today & grabbed some fabric….

A few buttons….

and my lil’ singer sewing machine.

I wasnt really sure what I was doing…

I didn’t know any measurements…

I didnt have one of those cool body figure things they use on project runway to pin things up before hand…

I wasn’t even really sure how to thread my bobbin in my sewing machine.

BUT! I was determined to make something…

and that something was a shirt.

So what do you think?

Its a tad snug on the arms…
and chest…

Yeah.. well it doesnt fit at all on the arms or chest (go ahead and look again – see – a little snug…), I had to squeeze in it with some butter… but the fabrics cute huh?

Did I do ok?

Im…

Just kidding 🙂

I didn’t make that shirt.

I found it today at a bargin shop for $ . 25 cent! – woo!
I loved the fabric and had to have it.

After reading this blog way to much – I was determined to try some dresses myself. Although I honestly can only sew a straight line haha… I figured the worse I could do is ruin an already ugly dress. Right?

Im pleased with how it turned out though!!

What do you think?
after

I thought it was a great look for lounging around the house, its super comfortable & the fabric is worn in, meaning VERY SOFT! I think this is a much better look than wearing an old T-Shirt of my husbands 😉

I picked up like 5 dresses btw… I dont intend on doing a dress a day for a year like my inspiration girl does, but it is fun to try!

About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to My 1st Shirt Job

  1. Crystal says:

    Cuuuuute =)
    I wasted half an afternoon perusing her blog too, lol. More please!

  2. Micki says:

    I absolutely love it, you done a great job to be the first time? are you sure this was your first shirt? LOL keep up the good work!

  3. Renee says:

    love it you did a great job!!!!

  4. Dreawood says:

    Hehe yup! 1st shirt ever! 🙂

  5. ElisabethCS says:

    LOVE IT! You did a great job! I know that girl inspired me TOO! I just haven’t been brave enough to take my 3 week old 3 year old together to the thrift store yet. I am hoping to do a dress per month…and try not to be all talk. lol

  6. Sarah says:

    Great job. I need to learn how to use the sewing machine that my mom just gave me.

  7. RLE says:

    I love that blog! You did good – looks very comfy and cool. I have no sewing machne, so her daily inspiration is going no where for me.

  8. Stacey says:

    Love it! I wish my kids wouldn’t torment me when I sew… I might do it more often!

  9. Kalle says:

    Awesome job Drea! I love the new shirt and thanks for the intro to her blog.

Leave a Reply

