I LOVE the Fabrics!

IMG_9937Last week I got a package in the mail from my friend Kate. As a gift she made me these wonderful market bags!

The fabrics are sooo fun! Kate has such a great eye for color and prints. She puts together two totally different prints and colors, and they just work so well. I wish she could come into my home and pick all my linens and curtains, I bet she’d be a great interior designer as well.

I used the bags today for a big grocery store run. They worked great!

If you love these bags you should comment here telling Kate to open up an etsy shop and sell them πŸ˜‰ cause I seriously want like 5 more!

Oh, & Kate… your bags will be the inspiration for my kitchen πŸ˜‰ I may have to get you to ship me swatches of the fabrics to use in some decorative frame I want to work on soon. ::wink wink::

*& yes, the photo to the right shows our new cabinets and counters/back splash. The kitchen should be totally done by monday!!*

Heres a few more close ups of the prints.

IMG_9940

IMG_9939

IMG_9941

Update:
Kate posted a comment to those interested in these amazing bags!
Here is what she said…

You are so silly you silly-pants! I’m glad you love them. I love mine too, use them for everything.

For anyone interested, I get all my fabrics at Jo-Ann’s. I use the 45? home decor fabric for the outside, and just quilter’s cotton for the inside. The interfacing I use is Pellon 911FF. I use this tutorial with a few changes:
http://www.thelongestyear.typepad.com/EasyToteTut.pdf

The tutorial calls for home decor fabric on for inside and outside to make it reversible. I do that differently. And I cut the body of the bag 18? x 20? and put the handles on the 18? side so the bags are taller rather than wider. I also do my handles a bit differently. I cut a strip of each fabric 27? x 3?. I fold in the edges and iron to make them 2? wide. Then I put them together and sew the edges.

Anyone wanting to make them feel free to contact me with ?’s! mrs_kateboard@hotmail.com. But sorry, no Etsy shop for me. πŸ™‚ Too busy already. πŸ™‚ If you’re DYING for me to make you some let me know. WE’ll work something out. πŸ™‚

About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in friends. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I LOVE the Fabrics!

  1. tanya says:

    Oooooh I totally want some of those bags! I am also on the search for reusable sandwich bags. Any suggestions?

  2. Dreawood says:

    I love this shop: http://www.etsy.com/shop/LoveForEarth πŸ™‚ I own her produce bags and cloth napkins, both are great!! so im sure her sandwich bags are nice too.

  3. Stacey says:

    I want some of those bags Kate!! Pretty please πŸ˜‰ Name your price.

  4. Jessica says:

    I love those bags! Wonder where she gets her fabrics?

  5. Aura says:

    Now that is what I call shopping in style. Very pretty indeed.

  6. Renee says:

    wow those are gorgeous!!!!!

  7. Kate says:

    You are so silly you silly-pants! I’m glad you love them. I love mine too, use them for everything.

    For anyone interested, I get all my fabrics at Jo-Ann’s. I use the 45″ home decor fabric for the outside, and just quilter’s cotton for the inside. The interfacing I use is Pellon 911FF. I use this tutorial with a few changes:
    http://www.thelongestyear.typepad.com/EasyToteTut.pdf

    The tutorial calls for home decor fabric on for inside and outside to make it reversible. I do that differently. And I cut the body of the bag 18″ x 20″ and put the handles on the 18″ side so the bags are taller rather than wider. I also do my handles a bit differently. I cut a strip of each fabric 27″ x 3″. I fold in the edges and iron to make them 2″ wide. Then I put them together and sew the edges.

    Anyone wanting to make them feel free to contact me with ?’s! mrs_kateboard@hotmail.com. But sorry, no Etsy shop for me. πŸ™‚ Too busy already. πŸ™‚ If you’re DYING for me to make you some let me know. WE’ll work something out. πŸ™‚

  8. Kate says:

    Oh, and Drea, I’ll send you the scraps. Theirs not a whole lot left but you might be able to do something with them anyway. Remind me 27 times so I remember to get them to you. πŸ™‚

  9. sheri says:

    I was hoping she had a shop πŸ™‚ Please open one!

  10. Allison says:

    I LOVE those bags and would love to have some! I might try to make one but if it doesn’t workout I will be contacting Kate for sure!

  11. I thik it’s safe to say that she has a client base already! LOL. I really likes these bags. Everyone loves customization and color and the regular grocery reusables work but aren’t pretty. It sounds like Kate is really busy but I think her etsy shop would be a success!

    I’m going to bookmark this page in the attempt of making my own. Hopefully they’ll turn out okay.

  12. Janice says:

    So cute! I’m surprised that she gets her fabric at JoAnn’s. I’m definitely making some of these for gifts. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

