His comfort…

IMG_9338Well.. after probably $35 spent on trying every pacifier brand available in our town LOL… I have given up on the pacifier for Owen…

*SO! If you want a pacifier msg me! I have MAM, Gerber, Avent & Playtex ones available! A little soap and you got a brand new barely used pacifier!*

Its just puzzling to me how some babies refuse them. I mean he acts like he wants one… because he will suck on his hand, and my thumb :-\ – but you stick a pacifier in his mouth and it just sits there, or he makes a face and spits it out.

The only time I can successfully get him to suck on a pacifier, is if I wear him. Strange huh?

Getting Owen to bed has become a challenge… he fights it and he acts like he wants comfort…
Yet you try to rock him and he fights you.
The only thing that honestly calms him is the bottle…
I have never been one to put a baby to bed with a bottle… I always heard it was horrible for babies to get into that habit… and once they get teeth it can cause decay issues? but he cries for something! I just dont know what to do…. The other day I will admit, I let him fall asleep with a bottle in hand (just like this photo shows). He holds it very well for not even being 5 months.

The only other thing he likes is his blanket. He will suck on it… but even that doesnt seem to do the trick some nights.

I will continue to try different things. I would prefer he didnt require a bottle to get to sleep with… but when you have two other kids and you are at your wits end to get him to sleep… it will have to do.

If any of you moms have dealt with this before, leave me some tips! 🙂

About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in Owen. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to His comfort…

  1. Sarah says:

    Dustyn would not take a passy at all. He LOVED the bottle, so what I did was give him a completely empty bottle and that put him to sleep. That way it was like a passy, but the milk wouldn’t drip in his ears (risk ear infections) or he wouldn’t choke on the milk and didn’t mess up his teeth. That is if Owen will suck on an empty bottle. Something to try though.

    Carsyn will only take the Advent passys (found at Target) they are clear and hard on the plastic party. That is only while sleeping and when I wear him. He won’t take it much other times. Good luck!

  2. Mary says:

    My 5 month old is the same way. Something is always going in his mouth whether it is a toy or a fist or a blankie. He will take the pacifier if I wear him too. I just gave up but here are some things you can try… dunk the passy in formula or breast milk before giving it to him. Have you tried tying a not in the edge of a receiving blanket or other cloth? Women used to do that before pacifiers, it was called a sugar knot and they dipped it in sugar water so the baby would suck on it. If he is like my little guy he is probably more of a chewer than a sucker. Nuk makes a teething toy that is 3 pieces that snap together, one rubber that can go in the freezer, one semi-rubbery and a hard one. I keep it in my diaper bag and it saves the day once in a while. Don’t give him a bottle with nothing in it as he will get too much air and get a tummy ache. You can put duck tape under the bottle top and that will work better.

  3. Alison P says:

    Neither of my boys took pacifiers. But, I think that I’m their human pacifier! At least you won’t have to wean him from a pacifier later!

  4. Robyn says:

    I have no advice for you. Sean spat out his paci at 7-8 mos old and never took it again. Mack refused the paci all together. Good luck!

  5. :eather says:

    You’re lucky he will hold his bottle! Emerson is 10 mths old and will not do it!

  6. Erika says:

    Have you tried giving him a bottle of water? You wouldn’t have to worry about tooth decay. Other than that I have no advice for you.

  7. Tara Dew says:

    Between 3 1/2 and 5 months, my two had trouble settling themselves to sleep too. It was about the same time that they started breaking out of their swaddles, and would flail and have trouble settling in. After several sleepless nights and naps, I put them on their tummies to sleep. They both were strong enough to lift their heads up and had started rolling, so I felt like the arguments for SIDS wouldn’t as much apply. It made a world of difference! They felt secure, it kept their paci in, and they began sleeping much more soundly:) Maybe it will work for Owen too!

    PS. I’ve heard the same thing about tooth decay and ear infections with giving them a bottle at bedtime. Maybe by changing his sleeping position, it will cut out the need to give him a bottle in the bed.

  8. Melissa says:

    I had this exact problem with my second child. I agree with putting water in the bottle. I started doing this with my daughter when she was about 5 months old ( a very small amount) and it worked out great for us. The benefit now at 2.5 years old is that she LOVES to drink water. She’s not a big juice drinker where my son begs for it all the time. By the way, this is the first time I’ve ever commented on your blog – love reading about your journey as a mom!!

  9. sheri says:

    Babies have the natural urge to suck on things. My daughter wouldn’t take a binky either. But she would fall asleep with a bottle and that is ok. He will be fine if you let him do that as long as he isn’t on the bottle for years. My daughter quit the bottle at about 1. My son is 2 and still has to nurse to fall asleep. Sigh

  10. Rachel says:

    Definitely stay away from the bottle! My sister-in-law put her youngest to bed with a bottle every night with formula and then with JUICE until he turned 3!! His baby teeth all rotted and the only thing that the dentist could do was tell her to wait for those teeth to fall out and let his adult ones grow in while teaching him to care for his teeth. He is now 8-years-old and still dealing with sensitivity issues in his baby teeth and does the no-teeth smile thing because he is extremely self-conscious.

    The water thing sounds like a great idea though! Just thought I’d tell you that the rotting thing is most-definitely, 1000% true!

  11. Heather says:

    Maybe give him a little blankie like this… http://www.lillamonsters.com/babysilky.html Something about the satin edges, feels like the womb or something I’ve been told. Kezi has two blankies similar to that. I bought them when I noticed she would suck on her blankets while falling asleep (around 3 or 4 months I think). Well, apparently it was just what she was looking for, lol. She is 16 months now, and shows no signs of being done with “blankies”!

Leave a Reply

