I can now reveal

the surprise gift….

For some time now we have had some issues with our kitchen…
From doors not shutting all the way, drawers getting stuck, drawers falling apart… cabinets beginning to fall from the ceiling….
Add the kitchen floor plan being the size of most peoples closets… it just was not an ideal kitchen for a growing family of 5…
I think the past 3 years using this kitchen has helped me learn to be content…. and thankful… it tested me many times and I will be honest in saying I envied others homes SO MUCH when being in my kitchen… It was very frustrating to me to only have 4-5 foot of counter space (if that)… and to not be able to turn around with one other person in the kitchen with me. I actually had moments where I felt claustrophobic.

I made do though… and we persevered despite its limitations, I know theres lots of people out there with far less.

IMG_7207With the cabinets being in such a bad shape though, we knew it was time… So this remodel isnt just “because I want something nicer…” it really needs to be fixed for practical reasons. The house was built in the 1960’s and these are the original cabinets, so they are like 50 years old πŸ™‚

Because this is a parsonage we had to get the churches approval 1st. I was so nervous they’d say no… but I am so thankful they agreed it needed to be done.

So starting tomorrow we will begin the process! I have to clean out all the cabinets 1st, then the men will come in and have their way πŸ™‚ – I will be posting updates as things happen… but lets just say, its going to be amazing afterwards!!! They are changing it completely. I also wont have dark wood walls anymore πŸ™‚ Just think… airy, white and open!

The next few weeks will be difficult with Owen requiring bottles… You cant exactly use -paper- bottles like you can with plates and cups for older kids… so I will have to do dishes in our bathroom πŸ™‚ – and cook at the church.

I also hope this remodeling helps with the ant problem πŸ™‚

See that 409 on our counter? I was using natural cleanings but those didnt seem to get rid of ants πŸ™‚ 409 does a lot better at shooing them away. Guess a few chemicals don’t hurt if it means I wont have ants crawling on my babies bottles.

Sooooooooooo for fun, comment letting me know some of your favorite kitchen accessories!!

I want to splurge with my own money and buy some new kitchen things to spruce it up.

All my stuff is rather old πŸ™‚

I saw some adorable kitchen things at ROSS and TJ Maxx, very affordable too.

Below are a few more kitchen pics:

IMG_7213

*this walk way are will be completely different!*

IMG_7210

*the above photos shows the space I have between stove/counter top –
add a few kids in here and it gets pretty cramped, let alone adding a husband!*

About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in house keeping. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to I can now reveal

  1. Aliesha says:

    So, SO excited for your new kitchen!! It’s going to be such a blessing.

  2. yeah, how exciting! I feel your pain with the small kitchen. Ours is actually smaller than yours and with 8 people it’s a bit insane at times. But it’s a kitchen with a stove and sink and for that I am grateful!

    can’t wait to see your new kitchen!

    britt

  3. Cara says:

    My mom recently redid her kitchen (I think she had less counter space than you, ha ha!) and she loves it.

    I hope that you get lots of joy from cooking for your family in your new kitchen! πŸ™‚

  4. Stacey says:

    I’m SO super excited for you!!

  5. Jenn says:

    That’s exciting!! Can’t wait to see the results. The things I use the most in the kitchen–a really good set of knives (I’m needing a new set…my Mom just got some KitchenAid ones that are so nice) and my steamer. I use the steamer all the time during the summer when I have green beans from the garden. Steaming them in the microwave or roasting them in the oven doesn’t cook them as good as the steamer. I use it all year, but esecially in the summer. It’s a little big, but worth the shelf space it takes up:)

  6. scatterbrain says:

    Drea,
    If it makes you feel any better, my kitchen is tinier than yours! πŸ™‚

  7. Ivy says:

    YEAH!!! God is good. Can’t wait to see.

  8. Kayti says:

    We just moved into a new place and are looking forward to remodeling the kitchen πŸ™‚

    My husband and I are both cooks and are very fond of our kitchen accessories. Our kitchenAid stand mixer is hands-down my fav kitchen small appliance which I see you already have. I also see you’ve already got some pampered chef things on your counter. We’re big fans of pampered chef too πŸ™‚ So, I would second the knives. We have a really great set of knives that I’m always thankful for when we’re cooking.

  9. Hope Revels says:

    LOL I recognize that floor!!! It was in my house until I got so sick of it I bought some of those stick down tiles…just that little change will hold me over for awhile… πŸ™‚ Good Luck with the process!!

  10. maggie says:

    how very exciting! I can’t wait to see the “after” pictures.

    If you want to get rid of the ants you should sprinkle Amdro outside the house. It’s the only thing I’ve found that really works.

  11. Dreawood says:

    ohhhh i agree, good set of knives is a must!! We have CUTCO πŸ™‚ my husband use to sell them in college and so he got an entire set for little to nothing. THey are incredible knives πŸ™‚

  12. Alison P. says:

    Wonderful news – that is so very exciting! If it makes you feel better, we also have a smaller kitchen than you do, and I have less counter space, too! I love to cook, so the lack of counter space is extremely hard to work with. As for fun kitchen things, I like Cuisinart pots and pans – they have some great eco-friendly non-stick ones that are perfect for making pancakes, eggs, etc. We are coffee drinkers, so we have an espresso machine and coffee grinder, but I know you don’t drink coffee! I have a Kitchen Aid blender and a small chopper that are perfect for making homemade baby food. I definitely need some good knives, too. Lucky you with the Cutco! My parents have those, and they are amazing! πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to see the finished results!

  13. Megan C. says:

    Oh yay! A new kithen!!! That is so exciting! What a blessing! I am so happy for you and can’t wait to see the finished project!

  14. Carrington says:

    Oh I am beyond thrilled and excited for you! So exciting! Can’t wait to see pics!

  15. Jessie says:

    Yay Drea! That is going to be so nice! This coming from a mama with a kitchen not much bigger than yours now. How I would dream of a makeover πŸ™‚

  16. Tara Dew says:

    I’m very excited for you to have a kitchen remodel, and can’t wait to see it in all the steps!

Leave a Reply

