Reflections on Breastfeeding Week

Ive seen on A LOT of blogs this week posting about nursing…
and celebrating the WORLD WIDE breastfeeding week…
I mean I myself put a post up for UDDER COVERS on SIMPLE today…
Its so strange though… that there is a part of me that still is saddened when I look at Owen and cant nurse him…

I feel almost as if I have failed or am left out?

Like im not good enough to be part of that whole campaign and “nursing moms” group…
That I am the “bottle feeding” mother… and didnt try enough.

IMG_8394BUT the more I look at Owen… and the more I see him thriving… the more I realize thats what really matters… is that we love our babies… we nurture our babies…. may that be through a breast or bottle… it does not make me LESS. It does not make my baby any less healthy… or incapable of anything. I have seen my other two boys grow up and thrive on formula… after weeks of failed nursing… and my children have been beyond healthy and so so strong.

This isnt a post to bash nursing. I absolutely think it is an incredible time in a womans life… and that the bond is incredible between mom and baby through nursing… but I also believe that my bond with Owen is no less… and I dont ever want anyone who reads my blog to think the thoughts I have thought when I question my choice to stop nursing.

I get to enjoy the same looks from Owen as I feed him….
I get to hold his sweet little hands…
I get to smell his hair and kiss his forehead….
I even get to share the joy by allowing my children to feed Owen… and I tell you, that right there has been SO sweet.

So to all the moms who arent able to nurse….
You are not alone this week 🙂
Enjoy your babies!!
Cherish those feedings…
And soak up every single minute!

It wont be long and Owen will want to feed himself… and I will no longer be able to cradle him for 20 minutes as he drinks a bottle.
Those times are precious.

About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Reflections on Breastfeeding Week

  1. Bren says:

    Drea,

    As a breastfeeding mom of three, I really know the trials we go through to breastfeed. I’ve had all the same problems you’ve experienced, but for some reason it ended up working. So when you say that you feel failed, I disagree. I also think that most breastfeeding moms would know exactly how you feel and know your pain (wondering if we had to stop nursing or if we were doing what was best for our baby). We just lucked out and that’s it. Maybe our cracked nipples healed in the nick of time, or the baby’s thrush…there are so many variables. You tried and that’s what you should be proud of. You have a wonderful little baby and that’s the bottom of line.

  2. kelly says:

    I totally agree with Bren! It’s a struggle to begin nursing any child and it’s different each time…. but trying and not nursing isnt a failure. The failure would be to not attempt to create a bond with each child… and that could even happen with a breastfeeding mother who never looks into her babies eyes or doesn’t enjoy those close moments!

  3. Stacey says:

    What they said 🙂

  4. Sarah says:

    What a great post! You did not fail. You tried, it didn’t work, but you still crated an awesome bond with your boys. You are amazing!

  5. Carrington says:

    I know you KNOW you didn’t fail, but Satan’s lies creep in, right? I love that you wrote this because I’ve been reading all the BFing blogs feeling the SAME way. I love breastfeeding, I have loved breastfeeding, and I bottle feed my baby right now, and it makes me sad. BUT I am so attached to him, so bonded to him, so in love with him, and I hold him and love him just like you described. I can’t deny I miss it, or feel left out, or feel like I might be missing something, but I’m so happy that my baby is healthy and thriving.

    THANK YOU for writing this. xoxo

  6. As a nursing Mama to 2 of my 3 boys, I can completely relate to your feelings. My oldest was unable to nurse… just too many difficult things and I just couldn’t do it. it came down to either Bubbie eating or me continuing to try to nurse.

    The last part of your blog post, “enjoy your babe” is TOO true. My Buggy just weened himself and I am already missing cuddling with him. 😦 I don’t get to snuggle with him anymore. He’s too busy crawling and trying to walk!

  7. scatterbrain says:

    Drea,
    thank you once again, for being such an encouragement to me. I went through the same thing. Last night when I saw it was breastfeeding week, I clicked on several links to see once again if I was doing something wrong and that was why my milk ‘dried up’. My husband who saw me doing this, asked me to stop and reminded me of how satan tries everything to put guilt and doubts in our minds. What matters is that our children know we love them from their heart.

  8. Shana says:

    What a great post!

Leave a Reply

