The Belly Deflatation

IMG_9222-92 copy copy2 copyTonight I got into a discussion with a friend who just had a baby. She mentioned to me how she felt she needed to loose weight… (which is silly because she looks fantastic to me!) but I then agreed how hard it is to get back into the shape you were before, after you have a baby. I then told her…

Its weird how when your pregnant… you feel BIG… obviously, but you don’t really feel FAT.. I mean to a degree any way. But after you have the baby its a very strange thing that happens… your belly deflates.. but its almost as if your fat distributes elsewhere from the belly.. to your love handles LOL, to your face, to your upper arms, to your inner thighs… and you still do keep some in the belly, but not at all in the same way as when you were pregnant 🙂

Its like a Belly Deflation effect!

Strange…. 🙂

So note to any 1st time moms… its totally normal to experience this odd and uncomfortable effect 😀 – I will say though, it does eventually go away (to a degree) with some work hehe.

About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Belly Deflatation

  1. Aliesha says:

    I think it’s God’s way of giving mothers “soft spots” so that they are better equipped to cuddle their little ones! 🙂

  2. Stacey says:

    Good perspective Aliesha 🙂 I don’t think I’m any softer than I was in high school, lol 🙂 I was never the super thin good looking girl. I was heavier than I am now (not that I’m thin now either, lol) and was more active then (go figure). I think we need to love our bodies no matter where we are at. After all, it’s what God saw fit to give us.

  3. Dreawood says:

    I agree Stacey 🙂 – It was suppose to be humorous.

  4. Tara says:

    As a first-time mom of a 3 month old… I know what you mean! Yes, my body doesn’t look quite like it did before baby, but I wouldn’t trade it for anything because I have my son! But at the same time, I want to do what I can to try to be healthy and happy with my body… it just requires a bit more work with a baby!

  5. Kristine says:

    Any tips on how to loose the weight after babay? Also… what about stretch marks??? I am planning for a baby, and I am terrified of these. Having gone through 3 pregnancies yourself, do you have any tips, secrets you might share, or advice? I would appreciate it.

  6. Stacey says:

    lol, I know Andrea 😉 There are those that take it way too seriously though!

  7. Dreawood says:

    Hi Kristen,
    For me I just had to watch my diet after having babies… if I ate junk I gained weight, if I ate healthy I lost it. I was back to normal weight fairly quickly with all my babies.. especially my 2nd baby! Within a month I was 112 after having Taite (my 2nd) but with this last baby Im still 8lbs shy of 112. Which I dont think is bad but its just not shedding off nearly as fast as the 2nd time 🙂

    Also working out 3 times a week helps, do yoga or walk, something like that. Im doing yoga 5 days a week now to tone up my arms and core again.. but its hard after having a baby to do any form of exercise! Not because you cant but because your so stinking tired!! 🙂

    As for stretch marks.. its usually something you will inherit.. creams and oils DONT WORK, I used every thing available and still got them! Stretch marks WONT DEFINE YOU AS A WOMAN!! so dont worry about it if you get them, wear them as badges of honor 🙂

  8. Renee says:

    Someone told me once that motherhood is like a soldier going to war, they all come back scare and change forever from the experience. Our post baby body is a mark that something “big” happen not a war but life change nevertheless.

    Even after loosing all my pregnancy weight I still can’t fit in my pre pregnancy clothes, my hips are different, my nursing chest is way different etc.. I have scare from the c-section all of those are reminder that I’m a mother now and forever 🙂

  9. Drea says:

    yup! I agree renee, my hips grew after my 1st, i weighed less than I did before kids a year after having him and still couldnt fit into my prepreggo clothes, but after 2 yrs or so my hips went back, then i got pregnant again LOL, but after my 2nd my hips never grew and im still in the same jeans i wore before having kids, which is nice.. but things dont fit the same 🙂

Leave a Reply

