Biked 14 miles!

FxCam_1279062735788For about a month my husband has been surprising me big time!

He picked up running to get some exercise… and what started as just 2-3 miles… has now grown to 5…. 7….10… and now this morning he road his bike for 14 miles!! He actually road to another town and back!

He has had a great running partner named Jacob. I think him having someone to run with has helped keep him motivated as well.

For me it is not about “looking like some super model” or “getting a six pack” – When I think about my husband I care about his heart.. and his health.. and for me with heart issues running in his family, he really needs to stay active to keep his heart healthy.

I am not sure he knows it, but I am very proud of him for keeping it up!!

His motivation and drive has rubbed off on our boys!
They have wanted to ride their bikes more than anything these past few days. Caleb asking for Daddy to go out with him “to the school” across the road to ride together.

It really shows that what we do, our children want to do…

So if I sit around all day and eat brownies… play online for hours and watch tv show after tv show, that is what my children will naturally want to do.

I am determined to start getting more fitness in my routine as well. Its hard as a mom of 3! I think like anything though, it can be done if we put our minds to it and work for it.

The workout routine I will be doing is Bob Harpers weightloss Yoga. Ive had this for a while and I tell you, it will make you SHAKE AND BURN!!! Its no joke. I did P90X before getting pregnant with Owen and this is very close if not harder than the P90X yoga. The best part though is its not as long as P90X’s yoga (which is almost an hour 1/2), Bobs Yoga routine is only 35 minutes, about the length of most TV shows.

FxCam_1279062547599FxCam_1279062519964

FxCam_1279062464437
*The pics are kinda grainy, they were cell phone pictures*

So, what do you do to stay healthy?

About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in p90x, travis, workout. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Biked 14 miles!

  1. WOW! Congratulations to him for doing all of that! That’s just plain AMAZING!!

    http://theartsymom.tk

  2. Kalle says:

    14 miles is a huge accomplishment. Way to go! Before I had Emmett I was at the gym 5 days a week (right up until my 9th month) and after I had him I gave myself 3 months of rest and then started with a Pilates Weight Loss program (30 minute video) and LOVE it. I don`t always have time to do the whole routine but I`ve memorized all the moves so that I can do them anytime I find myself with free time.

    Congratulations for promoting such an active family. It`s so important!

  3. kim says:

    i belong to the y and go almost every morning during the week. in the summer i take all three kids and they have activities or watergames/swimming while i work out. during the school year i do the same (this year 2 will go to school and i’ll only have one) it’s great for them to have playtime with new toys (besides their own) and i get a break. about once a week i bring a bag and shower there too! it’s awesome! an uninterrupted shower AND i can dry my hair and even put on makeup!

  4. Kim says:

    a big part of health is wearing helmets while biking!

    Keep those precious kids safe!

  5. Heather says:

    I used to do that when I was in highschool. The town 7 miles down the road had the best ice cream place, so my friend and I would bike there, have ice cream, and bike home. I don’t think I could do it anymore though!

  6. Dreawood says:

    Travis wears one when he rides any place far, so do the kids, but we dont always wear them I wont lie. Puddle riding didnt seem all that dangerous.

  7. Renee says:

    Wow good job Travis!!!!

    For your question, I eat healthy that always makes me feel better, for real exercise well with 3 little one 3 and under it’s nearly impossible and with a newborn nursing all the time with no one else that can do that for her, no fitness program.

    I do take walk with them, carrying our 33 pound middle child and pushing the other 2 in a super heavy double stroller, that in it self is a work out LOL

    our house have 2 story and our laundry room is on the first floor and our closest room on the second, doing 6 load of laundry per day, folding and carrying it upstairs to put away is another work out!

    wearing or holding 1 or 2 baby at the time most of the day is a workout too!

    So maybe I do workout LOL

Leave a Reply

