Yardsale $ Purchase

IMG_6452As you all know we had a yard sale this past weekend…
Where we sold our 8 yr old sofa set… it was a plaid red sofa, love seat and chair… and it wasn’t BAD but it just WASNT ME… It was our 1st ever purchase when we got married, and well, I was 19 then 🙂 and now im 26… and over that course of time my personal style has changed a lot.

I love solids with a pop of print, not a print with a solid… if that makes sense 🙂 I think classic solid couches are more timeless as well.

IMG_6497With the yard sale we brought in around $250.00 – We then decided to go to BIG LOTS today to find a sofa I saw on sale for $299 on their sales ad… I wasnt super excited about shopping big lots… but I didnt think it looked cheap so I figured it be good enough.

On the way there however we decided to stop at Jersey Mikes and Sonic to eat (they were right side by side)… and right beside Sonic was an Ashley Furniture. They just so happen to have a tent display up… but I decided to go in 1st… as I was looking around I saw one I liked for about $450.00 … and when I asked the Lady if I could buy it NOW and take it home today, she said no.. she said all their furniture had to be ordered… so I knew that wasnt going to work. We wanted something “TODAY” since I had family coming in this afternoon and my parents and Abuela coming this weekend.

I then went out to the display tent outside (where Travis was browsing) and they just so happen to have a MICROFIBER sofa in a SOLID brown (just what I was looking for!) and to make it even better, it was a sleeper sofa!!! We live in a small home and have been unable to house my parents for some time when they visit… but now with this queen sleeper sofa as an option, its going to be awesome for guest! – and the price tag…. $300.00!! only a $1 more than the Big Lots sofa I saw advertised.. and I guarantee the quality of this one will outlast the big lots one for sure.

I also got a matching end table that is in the same microfiber fabric (its so cute, and has awesome storage), I got the guy down to $30!! and its original price was almost $100.

They had some beautiful textured throws as well, I grabbed one of those for a baby prop (to use with my business, when photographing newborns), and it was 60% off… so was only like $10.00.

What a blessing!!!

We got all of what we needed for only about $100 more than what we had made at the yard sale.

It looks so much nicer in our home now.. im excited about it.
I look forward to painting as well.. I want to paint one wall in our living room a gray-ish slate color (with a tint of blue in it) and then paint above my fire place a pop of color.. should be fun!

I will take pictures in time 🙂

For now I figured id post some photos from our last night 4th of July fun.

IMG_6385

IMG_6377

IMG_6378

About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in house keeping. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Yardsale $ Purchase

  1. Beautiful pictures and congrats on your grand total! That’s awesome. I’m so glad you got the sofa you were looking for, only more durable!! We got our furniture from Ashleys as well when it was on sale and I wouldn’t ask for anything else. It’s survived spills, my kids jumping on it, throwing cushions, etc..!!

    http://theartsymom.tk

  2. Renee says:

    Good job on you finds! Can’t wait to see pictures!!! And you guys look like you are having fun, at least the boys are 🙂

  3. Aliesha says:

    Can’t wait to see it! Sounds lovely. 🙂

  4. Stacey says:

    Awesome! Ashly furniture is really good quality. I’m sure you won’t regret it! Now all we need is a picture.

  5. noe says:

    Owen is getting so big!!!
    The boys look like they were having fun!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

