Get his Shuggie – Southern Terms

IMG_5876

IMG_5887

Owen doesn’t realize all the shuggie he gets 🙂
Hes shuggie-fied all day long.
BTW Shuggie is a term my husbands family uses.
You know how some southern people say “Awee come here Shuggg” – thats where the term Shuggie derives from 😀
Oh the things I learned once I married a southern farmers boy.

I even learned what the word “boot” really meant… when my husband (boyfriend at the time) said “Hey shug can you get my bag out of the boot.” My response “you have a bag in your boots?!” hahaha

I also found it cute when my husband would tell me on the phone (while dating) “I have to go to town.” I always responded “you mean you have to go to the store?” 🙂 living in Charlotte, we didn’t GO to town, we were always in TOWN.. so we just “went to a specific store.”

And I must admit sometimes my father in law will say things to me that I still don’t understand… I just smile and nod, that usually does the trick.

I think its fun though and I love learning all these southern sayings.

About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in Owen, travis. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Get his Shuggie – Southern Terms

  1. Dreawood says:

    HHAHAHA!!! Oh I forgot to say, It means “the trunk” of the car hah.

  2. Renee says:

    it’s interesting all those different expression that comes with a certain region!

    At least your inlaws speak the same language!!! Mine sometimes speak Dutch while I’m visiting, now then I have no clue at all what they are saying!!!!

  3. haha! “shuggie” I love it!

  4. Stacey says:

    Wow 😉 I’ve heard of boot, because that’s very British, but the rest, lol! I’m sure we say some things here in Canada that you would laugh at too.

  5. I’ll admit it, I live close to Kentucky, and when I get calls from down there they might as well be speaking a whole different language.

  6. Kate says:

    Y’wonna go back t’house t’git a mouthful?

    I was actually able to interperet that one when he said it. 🙂

    You’s my shugg, Drea. That’s what Imma gonna call you. 🙂

  7. Britt says:

    I do not speak southern.

  8. Diana says:

    My husband is the same way about “going into town”. We live across the street from the grocery store but that is what he still calls it. LOL! Also, my husband calls all larger vehicles, like our Honda CRV, vans. He will always say “I’m going to go get the girls in the van”. My response is “what van, we don’t have a van!”

  9. sheri says:

    SO funny. I have never heard of the boot before. Once we were visiting my aunt in the country and she told my uncle to call down to the gas station to see if they had gas because we needed to get some. My husband and I cracked up over that one for years.

Leave a Reply

