No Miracle Blanket, well..

So! the other night I decided to let Owen sleep without his Miracle Blanket. He kept wanting to suck on his hands so he was struggling to get out of the blanket… so I figured he was “ready to be unswaddled” when he slept… it went fine that one time, I however was wrong in thinking he “didnt want swaddling” any more. πŸ™‚
After attempting yesterday to let him sleep without it, he got so off schedule! He would fall asleep initially, but then wake up 20 – 30 minutes later for some reason… I struggled getting him to sleep ALL DAY yesterday, resulting in his night getting all screwy… and him waking up at like 1:30am, then staying up til like 3am!! It was pretty bad…

This morning he was still fighting it and we just decided he needed his Miracle Blanket again… however, it was filthy and the 2nd one I had was buried under a pile of dirty clothes in the hamper. So we had NO MIRACLE BLANKET clean…

taiteswaddleAs a last result I decided to Ribbon Swaddle Owen. I use to do this technique with Taite… before learning about the Miracle Blanket πŸ™‚ and it worked very well! Taite slept ribbon swaddled until he was about 5 months old.

So if you don’t have a miracle blanket Id suggest you try this.

PLEASE BE AWARE that if you do not do this correctly you are putting your baby at risk. You need to use a ROUGH non slippery ribbon (Scarf, whatever you choose).. so that it doesnt slip while the baby is sleeping. Also use a very thin blanket, nothing thick… you don’t want your baby to get to hot.

HERES A LINK to a quick time video I found showing how to Ribbon Swaddle. I tried finding one on youtube.com but was unable to.

The photo to the RIGHT is of Taite actually! πŸ™‚ He was sleeping in his moses basket in that photo as well.

So… Owen will remain a “swaddled” bambino πŸ™‚ until future notice. He just sleeps better this way.

I DO PREFER to use the MIRACLE BLANKET over the ribbon swaddling however. Just thought id share this method for those who find themselves in a bind like we did this morning.

Below are a few photos I took after Owen woke up from his morning nap. Note… the scarf I used was pretty big HAHA… I couldnt find the skinnier one I use to use with Taite… and we were in such a rush to get him to sleep this morning, that this one had to do πŸ™‚ It would not be my ideal 1st choice tho.

IMG_5891

IMG_5892

As you can see, Owen was very happy about catching some Zzz’s wrapped up HEHE
& of course seeing his big brothers to greet him.

IMG_5894

About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in Owen. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to No Miracle Blanket, well..

  1. Jobina says:

    Thanks for posting that! Sawyer is a swaddle baby but he’s been getting one arm out lately too and sucking on his hand. I’ve tried not swaddling him but then he’s constantly startling himself awake. Since I don’t have a miracle blanket this might be the answer!

  2. Holly says:

    Have you ever tried the double swaddle? I found out about it after my daughter kept escaping her regular swaddle. I’ve used it from day one with my son, and he loves it! Try googling it. :0)

  3. Robyn says:

    My bloglines loaded a post about Jeans Diapers, but it seems you took it off your blog. I HATE THAT COMMERCIAL!!! It’s sooo dumb! And the diapers? A way for them to make more money. Silly! I ain’t buying it!

  4. Drea says:

    yup Owen broke right out of double swaddling πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

