Day 1 & 2 of vacation

DSCF0538
Day 1:

Monday morning we began our vacation by driving to Kitty Hawk, NC to spend the day at the beach!

This was a special part of our vacation because we got to meet up with my sweet friend Kate!
Kate & I met online. Some how we came across each others blogs and just connected. I just think its neat how the Lord can bring people into your life like that… and at times you need them. Kate has been a great encouragement to me and I am so thankful for that.

I took my snap shot camera with us to the beach… im not one to take my nice cameras unless im doing an actual photo shoot 🙂 – sand and wind make me very nervous with camera gear.. so little camera it was!

I took way to many photos to POST here, but at the end of this post I will link you to a flickr album with the rest.

We also enjoyed a great spaghetti dinner with Kate & her family… I then treated them to a mini session on the beach... and then we ended with lots of hugs.

Heres some more photos:

DSCF0549

DSCF0557

DSCF0586

DSCF0591

Owen took a nap on the beach and got some shade from me and cover up from my Solarveil sling

DSCF0595

Taite & Mylo hit it off. Taite really liked him.

DSCF0615

The sun made Kate a little crazy 🙂

DSCF0618

She made up for it.

DSCF0622

DSCF0619DSCF0625

DSCF0563DSCF0565

DSCF0566

_MG_2607Day 2:

After the beach trip we went home for the night (we don’t live to far from the beach, so we decided it be better just to go home, then leave for our actual vacation).

We then traveled 3-4 hours to our location, Ashboro NC.

Why Ashboro? Well… lets just say there are special perks to being in ministry hehe, and because my husband is a Pastor we get to stay at this AMAZING SPOT FOR SUPER CHEAP!!! Im talking so inexpensive that we are in the executive rooms (yes I said rooms – we have a total of 5 *one being a full kitchen* rooms!! not including the bathrooms haha!). Its better than I could of expected.

& get this… we are the ONLY PEOPLE HERE.. besides the people working the place obviously… but there are no other families here right now. They use this place for church camps… and there arent even campers here this week.. so its totally deserted, which is great. We basically got everything to ourselves. The pond (which is amazing), the pool, the big lobby, the parking lot (we brought bikes!), and so on. The weather is beautiful as well… not to hot , not to cold.

Yesterday we enjoyed watching the boys hike the trails, eat a snack and then get into the pond… that felt like bath water.

Owen did really well (despite getting a little fussy in the car and at night). Him and I shared a room while the boys and Travis shared another. This way when Owen wakes in the middle of the night it doesnt wake anyone else but me.

_MG_2625Speaking of Owen at night..
The past 2 nights hes done amazing!
Last night he got up at 5am to eat (after going down at 11)
The night before he slept until 6:30am!!
The only bad thing… he is up for a good bit after that… but he is content, just kinda coo-ish.

Today we are headed to the Ashboro Zoo! Get this 2… we GET FREE PASSES!!! The place we stay at has free guest passes to the zoo… so we dont even have to pay for that.

This really is awesome for us and I think we found our yearly vacation spot! haha… cause seriously, I dont see how it could get any better. 🙂 well maybe if they had a nice spa downstairs and did complimentary facials and body rubs.

Im off to shower while Owen naps and the boys ride bikes outside… then its zoo time! (its cloudy and cool today – 80-ish is the high, perfect zoo weather).

Heres some more pictures from yesterday (album of the rest below as well):

Here the boys are hiking the trails – the cream wrap thing on Travis is a bundleboo – I am shocked he actually agree’d to wear it! Hes not into wraps 🙂
_MG_2637

Heres a closer view 🙂

_MG_2649_MG_2650

I let Caleb pick the spot to have snack, he chose a bridge.

_MG_2658

_MG_2651

Snack of choice – Grape Juice, with Sun Chips and Pretzels.

_MG_2644

_MG_2643

& then came water time!

_MG_2665

_MG_2669

_MG_2680

IMG_2709

Owen had to be stripped down to nothing after being worn by Travis.
Men sure do sweat a lot 🙂 Owen was SOAKED in it!!

_MG_2685

but thats ok… he enjoyed some shade time in the warm sun.

_MG_2682

IMG_2704

IMG_2703

& to end… how CUTE are these two pictures…

_MG_2617

this last one makes me think that Owen is puzzled 🙂

_MG_2623

– More photos from Ashboro
– More photos from the Beach Trip w/ Kate.

About dreawood

32 Yr old Mom to 4 boys. Married to a former Cop who now Pastors a Evangelical church in SC. Professional Photographer and random blogger @ www.dreawood.com
This entry was posted in friends, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Day 1 & 2 of vacation

  1. Wendy says:

    I spy a Thirty-One bag! and please share the name of this wonderful place, sounds like the perfect getaway for this pastor’s family.
    Wendy

  2. PamJ says:

    aw love owen’s lil smile in that 2nd last one 🙂
    looks like you are having a blast!

  3. scatterbrain says:

    you have a beeeeeautiful family!!

  4. Megan C. says:

    What a great vacation so far! I lived in NC for awhile and spent many summers in the Outer Banks- in fact we are headed back there in just a few weeks for a vacation ourselves! Something I never did get to do while living in NC was visit Ashborough. I have heard it is beautiful. I hope you have a blast at the zoo and that the rest of the week is relaxing and a blessing to your whole fmaily!

  5. Ashley says:

    The picture of Caleb and owen is breathtaking!!!

  6. Kate says:

    Wow,your vacation spot looks FABULOUS!! I can’t believe you got the executive rooms!! Maybe I’ll have to drive through Ashboro on my way home so you can get that complimentary facial. 😉 I’ve told you that’s what I used to do, right?

  7. Kathryn says:

    What an awesome trip! Hope you guys have a great time! (and my heart just melted a little when I saw the picture of Owen in his sunglasses.)

  8. Renee says:

    Wow all these picture are amazing!!! Looks like a very fun vacation!!!!

  9. Kayti says:

    Hubby and I are from NC (both graduated from colleges in Raleigh). We love the Outer Banks 🙂 We vacationed there a couple of times with his parents while we were dating. Haven’t been back to NC in about a year and a half since we moved overseas. We’ll be back for itineration in a couple of years though. Looks like your vacation was super fun 🙂

  10. This cheap fake ugg boots, especially uggs for men are comfortbale and durable for daily use. Action now and choose fashionable mens ugg boots discount aliso now for your activity.

Leave a Reply

